Ten Italian Teams With The Most Serie A Title [scudetto]

Spread the love

The top-flight league in Italy is home to many teams with lots of history and quality but only a handful of clubs have managed to lay their hands on the Serie A title otherwise known as the scudetto.

Italy is home to many brilliant minds and they have been credited to be the brain behind several tactics, formations and more over time.

With the Italian Serie A, 20 football teams compete for honors every season to see who comes out tops.

We have compiled 10 Italian teams who have won the most Serie A title

As earlier pointed out, the Serie A is often depicted as the most tactical and defensively sound national league in Europe and to some extent, the world.

The Serie A was established in 1898 with teams playing region and interregional tournaments until the year 1929 when it started to be played in the round robin format.

Below is a full record of how many clubs played in each campaign throughout the history of the Italian Serie A.

18 clubs: 1929 till 1934

See also  Bayern Munich Has Won the German Bundesliga

16 clubs: 1934 till 1943

20 clubs: 1946 till 1947

21 clubs: 1947 till 1948

20 clubs: 1948 till 1952

18 clubs: 1952 till 1967

16 clubs: 1967 till 1988

18 clubs: 1988 till 2004

20 clubs: 2004 till present.

Now, let’s dive straight into the teams with the most Serie A titles across the years:

10) Lazio 

Lazio players celebrating

The Eagles have won the Italian Serie A twice, lifting the top-flight trophy in the 1999/2000 season and the 1973/74 campaign.

9) AS Roma

Players of AS Roma celebrating

The Giallorossi have lifted the Italian Serie A title on three occasions, winning it in the 1941/42 season, 1982/83 season and the 2000/2001 season.

8) Napoli

Players of Napoli ecstatic

Newly crowned Scudetto champions occupy the 8th spot on the list with three Serie A titles, lifting the title previously in the 1986/87 season and 1989/90 season.

7) Vercelli 

Vercelli FC Logo

The team who currently play in the Serie C have won the title 7 times as they were domineering in the early 90s.

Vercelli won the title in 1908, 1909, 1910/11, 1911/12, 1912/13, they took a break from their grip of the Italian top-flight title and afterwards won it again in back to back fashion, 1920/21, 1921/22.

See also  Roberto Firmino's Dentist Says The Liverpool Star Requested Beyond Grade One White Teeth

6) Bologna 

Players of Bologna FC in jubilant mood

Bologna, the Greyhounds have won the Italian Serie A title 7 times as well.

The team who play their home games at the Stadio Renato Dall’Ara lifted the Serie A in 192/25, 1928/29, 1935/36, 1936/37, 1938/39, 1940/41 and 1963/64.

Anyway, they haven’t been able to lay their hands on the Italian Serie A title in 59 years.

5) Torino 

Torino players

The Maroons have also enjoyed relative success in the Italian Serie A in the past as they have been crowned the top-flight champions an impressive 7 times.

Torino first lifted the scudetto in the 1927/28 campaign and then additionally lifted it in 1942/43, 1946/46, 1946/47, 1947/48, 1948/49 and 1975/76.

4) Genoa 

Genoa have won the Serie A 9 times in the past

A team with an hilarious nickname “The Old Fool” have won the top-flight league title in Italy 9 times previously.

Genoa won the title in 1898, 1899, 1900, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1914/15, 1922/23 and 1923/24.

3) Inter Milan 

19-time Serie A champions Inter Milan

The Nerazzurri have lifted the Serie A title a whopping 19 times in years past as they have shown their domineering reign in the Italian Serie A from the old-time till the present time.

See also  What Lampard said about Chelsea's January transfer plans

Inter lifted the scudetto in 1910, 1920, 1930, 1937, 1938, 1953, 1954, 1963, 1965, 1966, 1971, 1980, 1989, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2021.

2) AC Milan

AC Milan have won the same amount of Serie A titles as Inter Milan

Neighbors of Inter Milan, AC Milan have also lifted the Serie A on 19 different occasions. 

The Rossoneri won the title in 1901, 1906, 1907, 1951, 1955, 1957, 1959, 1962, 1968, 1979, 1988, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1999, 2004, 2011 and 2022.

1) Juventus

Juventus are the team to have won the most Serie A titles

The kings of the Italian Serie A are Juventus and they have won the Italian top-flight title a staggering 36 times.

Juventus won the top-flight title in 1905, 1925/26, 1930/31, 1931/32, 1932/33, 1933/34, 1934/35, 1949/50, 1951/52, 1957/58, 1959/60, 1960/61, 1966/67, 1971/72, 1972/73, 1974/75, 1976/77, 1977/78, 1980/81, 1981/82, 1983/84, 1985/86, 1994/95, 1996/97, 1997/98, 2001/02, 2002/03, 2011/12, 2012/13, 2013/14, 2014/15, 2015/16, 2016/17, 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/20.

%d bloggers like this: