Concacaf kicksoff preliminary round of qualifier for world-cup in Qatar2022.

Spread the love

The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football Concacaf on Wednesday 19th August 2020 held its draw for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 in Zurich Switzerland moderated by FIFA’s Director of Tournament and Interim Competitions Jaime Yarza, Shaun Goater and David Suazo from Concacaf; a live stream broadcast was done in the region. However, a replay of the draw was made available to fans.

The 2020 world cup will be the 17th edition and has been scheduled to be held in the middle east with Qatar in as the host while an exact date is yet to be announced, with six continents before a new revamp rule will be introduced.

The has 35 teams play for 3.5 slots for the world event; all the teams were divided into six groups for the preliminary qualification with three rounds, while winners from each group will play a home-away determine the three top teams. The fourth-placed team will play FIFA international play-off in June 2022.

See also  Premier League: Sheffield United Wallops Chelsea 3-0

A first-round will be played between members ranked between 6-35 based on FIFA ranking within July 16, while the second round will see three winners join teams ranked 1-5, with each teams playing each other once in each group playing a two-home and two-away games and a total of four matches for each team. Final round start June 2021and continue through to September, October, November 2021, and end in January and March 2022.

The first round starts during FIFA stipulated match dates from October 2020 and November 2020. The second round will have six teams with group winners already fixed as Group A vs. Group F winner, Group B vs. Group E, Group C vs. Group D, with the matches played between March 2021

See also  Michel Platini is answering questions in Switzerland over $2 million payment from FIFA

Concacaf Group list.

Group A: El Salvador, Antigua and Barbuda, Grenada, Montserrat, and US Virgin Islands

Group B: Canada, Suriname, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, and Aruba

Group C: Curacao, Guatemala, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Cuba and British Virgin Islands

Group D: Panama, Dominican Republic, Barbados, Dominica, and Anguilla

Group E: Haiti, Nicaragua, Belize, St. Lucia and Turks and Caicos Islands

Group F: Trinidad and Tobago, St. Kitts and Nevis, Guyana, Puerto Rico and Bahamas

%d bloggers like this: