Super League: Chelsea, Manchester City, Manchester United get UEFA punishment

Spread the love

The European football governing body, UEFA has fined nine of the twelve clubs that joined the failed European Super League a combined 15 million euros for joining the breakaway league. The fine will be a goodwill contribution to develop grassroots football in Europe which will involve mostly children.

More so, the nine clubs – Chelsea, Manchester United, Manchester City, Tottenham Hotspur, Atletico Madrid, Arsenal, Liverpool, AC Milan, and Inter Milan, will lose 5 percent of UEFA competitions revenues for a season, starting in 2023-2024 season.

Recall that on April 18, twelve top European clubs including Real Madrid, Juventus, FC Barcelona, and the nine clubs mentioned above announced the official creation of a breakaway league called the European Super League.

The announcement caused uproar across the world. After intense pressure from football fans and government authorities, the six Premier League clubs among the 12 clubs withdrew from the failed Super League. Subsequently, Atletico Madrid, Inter Milan, and AC Milan announced their withdrawal from the league which caused it to fail.

See also  Real Madrid and Barcelona Has The Most Ballon d'Or Winners in the History of The Award

On Friday, May 7, UEFA announced that as part of the punishments for the clubs that have officially withdrawn from the league, the 5 percent of their revenue that would be withheld in the 2023-2024 season would be redistributed to all the clubs that participate in European competitions for that season.

On the other hand, the nine ex-European Super League clubs have been placed under a declaration which will see them pay 100 million euros each if they ever attempt to join a competition that is not recognized by UEFA.

They are also likely to pay 50 million euros each if they ever breach any other term of the declaration between them and UEFA.

Uefa president Aleksander Ceferin said: “I said at the Uefa Congress two weeks ago that it takes a strong organization to admit making a mistake, especially in these days of trial by social media. These clubs have done just that.

“In accepting their commitments and willingness to repair the disruption they caused, Uefa wants to put this chapter behind it and move forward in a positive spirit.

See also  Ajax goalkeeper Andre Onana suspended for 12-month for failing a doping test

“These clubs recognized their mistakes quickly and have taken action to demonstrate their contrition and future commitment to European football.

“The same cannot be said for the clubs that remain involved in the so-called Super League and Uefa will deal with those clubs subsequently.”

Meanwhile, it has been reported that the owners of the six Premier League clubs that were part of the European Super League have agreed to pay for the fine incurred by their clubs and will pay for the 5 percent loss in revenue that the clubs will suffer in 2023-2024 season.

Super League: why Real Madrid, FC Barcelona, and Juventus were not fined

Super League: why Real Madrid, FC Barcelona, and Juventus were not fined
The president of Real Madrid, Florentino Perez.

Real Madrid, FC Barcelona, and Juventus were also part of the 12 clubs that formed the breakaway league but UEFA did not fine them because they are yet to commit to the football governing body after forming the failed league.

Hence, UEFA has announced that the three clubs would have to go through a disciplinary process before the football governing body will determine the kind of punishment they deserve.

See also  Yaya Toure says he is ready to save FC Barcelona

Recall that the president of Real Madrid, Florentino Perez who served as the chairman of the breakaway league insisted that the idea of the league has not died and has not announced the withdrawal of Real Madrid from the breakaway league.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: