Premier League Results In History That Will Blow Your Mind


    Premier League has always been dubbed as the most competitive league in the world due to the level of unpredictability.

    Premier League Results That Will Blow Your Mind

    While other leagues are referred to as less competitive, the Premier League matches show us weekly why it is one of the best league in the world.

    The top division of the men’s English football league structure is known as The Premier League (official name: The Football Association Premier League Limited).

    It uses the English Football League’s (EFL) promotion and relegation system and is contested by 20 clubs.

    Typically, seasons last from August to May, and each team plays 38 games (playing all 19 other teams both home and away).

    The majority of games take place on Saturday and Sunday afternoons, with a few weeknight games here and there.

    After the decision of clubs in the Football League First Division to split from the Football League founded in 1888, the tournament was established as the FA Premier League on February 20, 1992; nonetheless, teams may still be demoted into and promoted from the EFL Championship.

    Here on Futballnews today, we are going to look at the famous matches that shook the world.

    2008: Middlesborough 8 – 1 Man City

    On May 11, 2008, the final day of the 2007–2008 season, a Middlesbrough team that would finish 13th in the standings destroyed ninth-placed Manchester City 8–1.

    Gareth Southgate easily defeated Sven-Goran Eriksson, a former manager of England, in the Premier League game. Eriksson’s one season as manager of City concluded with a fairly ordinary record of 15 wins, 10 draws, and 13 losses.

    City had the lowest defensive record in the top half with 53 goals allowed.

    On a day when Richard Dunne was dismissed, Afonso Alves scored three goals, Fabio Rochemback scored a thunderous goal, and Stewart Downing displayed the kind of form that made him look like a world-beater on his best day.

    2011: Manchester United 8 – 2 Arsenal

    On August 28, 2011, Manchester’s Old Trafford hosted the opening Premier League match between Manchester United and Arsenal.

    Manchester United defeated Arsenal 8-2, handing them their worst league defeat since West Ham United defeated them 7-0 in the previous Football League First Division in 1927, which was 84 years earlier.

    Also, it was the first time they had given up eight goals in a game since losing 8-0 to now-defunct Loughborough in the old Second Division in 1896.

    2013: Man City 6 – 0 Tottenham

    In 2013, Tottenham Hotspur was defeated decisively, 6-0…

    With a devastating performance at the Etihad Stadium, Manchester City proved their Premier League title credentials just three months into Manuel Pellegrini’s administration.

    Within 14 seconds, Jesús Navas scored, taking advantage of Hugo Lloris’ errant clearance after the Spurs goalie had initially parried Sergio Aguero’s initial shot into his path.

    After 30 minutes, Alvaro Negredo’s acrobatic close-range attempt bounced off Younes Kaboul and Sandro on its way to the goal.

    Aguero sneaked a yard in the penalty area before calmly putting Navas’ perilous pass in from the right to give City a three-goal lead just before halftime.

    After 30 minutes, Alvaro Negredo’s acrobatic close-range attempt bounced off Younes Kaboul and Sandro on its way to the goal.

    Aguero sneaked a yard in the penalty area before calmly putting Navas’ perilous pass in from the right to give City a three-goal lead just before halftime.

    2019: Man City 6 – 0 Chelsea

    After outclassing Chelsea at the Etihad Stadium, Sergio Aguero was Manchester City’s hat-trick hero as they returned to the top of the Premier League in 2019.

    A fast free kick from Kevin De Bruyne took Chelsea off guard after only four minutes, allowing Raheem Sterling to score at the far post before Sergio Aguero, who had earlier missed an open goal, blasted a beautiful right-foot finish past a stretched Kepa Arrizabalaga.

    Ross Barkley’s bizarre header right to Sergio Aguero’s feet to score his second was a symbol of Chelsea’s humiliation, and Ilkay Gundogan capped the first barrage with a low drive.

    After 56 minutes, following Cesar Azpilicueta’s foul on Sterling, Aguero completed his hat-trick from the spot. This was his 15th hat-trick for City and a record-equaling 11th in the Premier League, a distinction he shares with Alan Shearer. Also, it was his second home game in a row following his hat-trick in the 3-1 victory over Arsenal.

    Sterling added a sixth goal, turning in from six yards after David Silva’s threaded pass set up Oleksandr Zinchenko down the left, to further compound Chelsea’s misery.

    2020: Aston Villa 7 – 2 Liverpool

    Ollie Watkins scored a hat-trick in the first half, and Jack Grealish assisted on five of them as champions Liverpool were rightfully surprised by Aston Villa with one of the most astonishing Premier League scores ever.

    signing a record for Villa Before the game began, Watkins had never scored in the Premier League; 45 minutes later, he was awarded the match ball as the home team profited from Liverpool’s high line and individual errors.

    Just their fourth Premier League loss since January 3, 2019, it was Liverpool’s first seven-goal defeat since 1963.

    2023: Liverpool 7 – 0 Man Utd

    Cody Gakpo, Darwin Nunez, and Mohamed Salah all scored twice as Liverpool thrashed Manchester United 7-0 at Anfield on Sunday 5th March to increase their chances of finishing in the top four of the Premier League. The victory ended Manchester United’s momentum.

    A week after a resurgent United won the Carabao Cup, their first trophy since 2017, and amid talk of a title challenge, they were completely destroyed by Liverpool either side of halftime as they scored their biggest-ever margin of victory in the match.

    Although United had held the slight advantage for the first 43 minutes, Erik ten Hag’s team went on to suffer the biggest defeat for the club since a 7-0 loss to Wolverhampton Wanderers in 1931.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here