Phil Foden of Manchester City Wins PFA Young Player of the Year


Manchester City player, Phil Foden has won the Professional Footballers’ Association Young Player Of The Year award for 2022.

The award was given to him after he had a wonderful 2021/22 Premier League season. This is also the second time he won the PFA Young Player Of The Year award in two successive years.

Foden first received the award in the 2020/21 season after he improved a lot in his talent as a player. The young player joined the Manchester City team from their academy. Pep Guardiola has also played a major role in getting Foden at the top of his game.

He now has more playing time in the team than most senior players and always performs well in different positions. City played most games last season without a recognized center forward and this made coach Guardiola use Foden as a forced Nine occasionally.

Last season, the English youngster played in the middle and also on the left flank which made him an amazing addition to the Pep Guardiola squad and this has earned him many recognitions across Europe.

Phil Foden lifts the Premier League title.
Phil Foden lifts the Premier League title.

Foden finished last season with impressive stats of 14 goals, providing 11 assists in 45 appearances. The Playmaker has always turned up for the Blues in big games. Scoring and assisting against the likes of Liverpool, Manchester United, and Real Madrid.

Though he had an amazing season, his competitors for the PFA Young Player of the Year award included Reece James, Conor Gallagher, Jacob Ramsey, Bukayo Saka, and Emile Smith Rowe. These players were also impactful in the 2021/22 campaign for their respective teams and earned most of them an international call-up.

The emergence of Phil Foden has shown that Manchester City academy is known for producing top young players in Europe. Phil Foden is currently among the top 10 most valuable players in the world right now.

Phil Foden joins the elite company of Premier League players to have won the PFA Young Player Of The Year Award two times in a row. Other players on the list are; Ryan Giggs, Robbie Fowler, Wayne Rooney, and Dele Alli.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here