Los Angeles FC Tops List of MLS Teams More Likely to Win 2023 MLS Trophy

Spread the love

All eyes is on Los Angeles FC as the MLS returns on Saturday with all 29 teams ready to battle for the 2023 trophy.

Los Angeles FC tipped to defend 2022 MLS trophy

Blockbuster games and cracker fixtures are expected. Some pundits have already offered titbits on the chances of some teams to challenge for the title.

According to FIVETHIRTY EIGHT, Los Angeles FC, Philadelphia Union, New York City FC, Atlanta, Austin, and LA Galaxy are all given over 4% chance of winning the trophy, while all the 25 others are given 4% and below odd to win.

Los Angeles FC is leading the pole of the five best teams tipped to win the trophy with 17% chance.

Philadelphia Union is second on the list with 15% chance, and New York City FC is third with 11%. Atlanta has 6% while Austin and LA Galaxy have 5% each.

Los Angeles FC


Los Angeles Football Club, commonly referred to as LAFC, is an American professional soccer team based in Los Angeles. They compete in Major League Soccer in the league’s Western Conference.

See also  Qatar Is Charging $200 For A Night For A Tiny World Cup 2022 Accommodation Space

It was founded on October 30, 2014, and began playing in the MLS during the 2018 season as an expansion team.

Their home ground is BMO Stadium. They are the reigning Champions of MLS after finishing 1st in Western Conference and winning the playoffs.

Philadelphia Union

Based in the Philadelphia metropolitan area, Philadelphia Union competes in Major League Soccer (MLS) as a member of the Eastern Conference. The club was founded on February 28, 2008, and started playing in 2010 as an expansion team. Their home ground is Subaru Park, a soccer-specific stadium located in Chester, Pennsylvania.

Managed by Jim Curtin, the club topped the Eastern Conference table and finished as runners-up in the playoffs.

New York City FC

New York City Football Club is an American professional soccer club based in New York City playing in Major League Soccer (MLS) as a member of the league’s Eastern Conference. The club was founded in 2013 and has a 28,753-capacity Yankee stadium as the club’s home ground.

See also  2021 Golden Boy: Here are the most valuable nominees

Nick Cushing is the manager of the club. They finished 3rd in Eastern Conference, and 5th in the overall playoffs last season.

Atlanta United FC


Founded on April 16, 2014, Atalanta FC is based in Atlanta and competes in MLS’s Eastern Conference. The team is coached by Gonzalo Pineda. Their home ground is a 42,500-capacity Mercedes Benz stadium.

Last season, Atalanta United FC finished 11th on Eastern Conference table and did not qualify for the playoffs after being ranked 23rd in the overall table.

Austin FC


Austin FC was founded in 2018. The club began playing in the MLS in 2021, locking horns with other teams in the Western Conference.

They are based in Austin Texas and are the only team to play in Texas’ capital. Their home ground is Q2 Stadium in North Austin estimated to be a 20,738-capacity stadium. The team is managed by Josh Wolff. They were second in the Western Conference and finished 4th in the Conference Final playoffs.

See also  MLS team Minnesota United trashed Everton 4 - 0

La Galaxy FC


Based in Los Angeles, La Galaxy was founded in 1994 and began to play in the US soccer league in 1996. They currently play in the Western Conference of MLS with Dignity Health Sports Park in California as their home ground.

Their head coach is Greg Vanney. Last season, they finished 4th on the Western Conference table and 9th in the playoffs.

%d bloggers like this: