Jurgen Klopp didn’t think Lionel Messi deserves to win the 2021 Ballon d’Or… Mohamed Salah, Robert Lewandowski unfairly overlooked – Klopp said

Spread the love

Liverpool coach was shocked that Lionel Messi won the 2021 Ballon d’Or award, he believes that Robert Lewandoski and Mohamed Salah deserve it more than Messi. Klopp said in a press conference that he thought Mo Salah should have received more votes, Mo should have been higher up, he said.

“I’m really not sure about it [Ballon d’Or], 100%,” Klopp said when asked in a news conference ahead of the Merseyside derby. “You can always give it to Messi for his career, but if you don’t give it to Robert Lewandowski this time, after this year, it’s quite tricky for him to get it all.

“And Mo [Salah] should have been higher up, definitely. I was surprised by his position, to be honest. I saw the vote somewhere, I don’t know exactly [how it is voted for]. It’s journalists, yes? Then don’t ask me — it’s your fault. Speak to your colleagues if you think it should have been different.”

See also  Transfer Update on Hakim Ziyech, Christain Pulisic, Jorginho, Memphis Depay, Hwang, Ndombele, Willian, and Others

Jurgen Klopp added that it’s the journalist’s fault since they are the ones that voted for Messi, “It’s journalists, yes? Then don’t ask me — it’s your fault. Speak to your colleagues if you think it should have been different” Klopp added.

Leave a Reply


  • Bello Akanni Sheriffdeen 9 months ago

    Seriously Messi doesn’t deserve this year’s Ballon D’or.Even Messi acknowledge the fact that Lewandoski deserves it,he has been the most prolific and consistence player for 2 consecutive years.He was denied 2020 award using Pandemic as an excuse,for crying out loud most of the major leagues last year concluded their season and the Champions League with Europa League were concluded,if nothing this year’s edition was supposed to be given by him,not just because of 2020 but because he truly deserves it.I will keep saying it,the award has lost its value and dignity,Wesley Sneijder and Iniesta were robbed of the award in 2010 when they truly deserves it,instead it was given to their poster Boy Messi,same thing happened when Robbery deserves it but it was given to Ronaldo.

  • Anyara john 9 months ago

    I also think it should have been otherwise. Messi never deserved it but it the journalists that voted then then their decision is final. I guess the majority carried the vote.
    Well then it’s bettér luck next time.

%d bloggers like this: