European Super League: six Premier League clubs to pay £22m


The six Premier League clubs that signed up for the failed European Super League have agreed to pay the combined sum of £22 million to the English FA and the Premier League.

A joint statement by the FA and the Premier League described the payment from the six clubs as a “goodwill” donation to the development of grassroots football in England.

Recall that on April 18 when the proposed European Super League was announced, six Premier League clubs – Liverpool, Manchester United, Chelsea, Arsenal, Manchester City, and Tottenham Hotspur signed up for it.

The announcement generated a series of controversies across the football world. Football fans, pundits, football stakeholders, and government bodies used every available platform to condemn it.

The pressure that the announcement generated forced the six Premier League clubs to pull out from the proposed European Super League. It also encouraged three other clubs – Atletico Madrid, AC Milan, and Inter Milan who were among the 12 clubs that signed up for the breakaway league, to pull out from it.

Currently, only three founding members of the European Super League, Real Madrid, Juventus, and FC Barcelona are still left in the battle to have legal backing for the European Super League.

European Super League: six Premier League clubs to pay £22m

Hence, the European football governing body, UEFA, had to sanction the 9 clubs that have stepped down and set up a disciplinary committee for the three clubs that are yet to give up on the proposed league.

However, a recent statement from UEFA said the football governing body has suspended the disciplinary committee until further notice due to the lawsuit filed against UEFA by the three clubs.

A statement issued by UEFA on Wednesday, June 9, read: “UEFA understands why the disciplinary proceedings needed to be suspended for the time being, but remains confident in and will continue to defend its position in all the relevant jurisdictions.

“UEFA will take all necessary steps in strict accordance with national and EU law for the UEFA Appeals Body to be in a position to resume the disciplinary proceedings as soon as possible.”

Unlike the three clubs that are still giving UEFA tough time over the European Super League, the six Premier League clubs have not only agreed to pay a combined sum of £22 million to the FA, they have also signed an agreement with the football body that they are liable to pay £25 million each if they ever sign up for any breakaway league in the future.

The six clubs have also agreed that 30 points should be deducted from their accumulated points in the Premier League if they ever join a breakaway league in the future.

A joint statement by the Premier League and the FA read: “The six clubs involved in proposals to form a European Super League have today acknowledged once again that their actions were a mistake, and have reconfirmed their commitment to the Premier League and the future of the English game.

“They have wholeheartedly apologized to their fans, fellow clubs, the Premier League, and The FA.

“As a gesture of goodwill, the clubs have collectively agreed to make a contribution of £22m, which will go towards the good of the game, including new investment in support for fans, grassroots football, and community programmes.

“Furthermore, the clubs have agreed to support rule changes so that any similar actions in the future would lead to a 30-point deduction.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here