Burnley Players 2019/2020 Weekly Wages, Salaries Revealed

Burnley scaled
Burnley scaled

One of the football clubs competing to win the Premier League trophy is Burnley Football Club. The club popularly known as The Clarets is a professional association football club based in Burnley, Lancashire, England.

The club is one of the toughest and formidable clubs to play against and defeat. Since they gained promotion, Burnley have established themselves as a genuine top-flight club under their managerSean Dyche. The former England player has been in charge at Turf Moor since 2012 and has impressed since taking over.

The club’s nickname is derived from the colour of their home kit which is Claret and blue. The club colours were adopted before the 1910/11 season to commemorate Aston Villa’s dominance of English football at the time. The club was established on 18 May 1882 and was one of the twelve founding members of the Football League in 1888. The team started playing only friendly matches until they entered the FA Cup for the first time in 1885/86.

The Clarets were crowned champions of England in 1920/21 for the first time when they won the First Division.  During that season the team embarked on a 30-match unbeaten run, which remained an English record until it was beaten by Nottingham Forest in the late 1970s. Burnley attained a second league championship in 1959/60 with a team consisting of mostly youth academy graduates, winning the title with a last-day victory over Manchester City, after foundations were laid by pioneers Alan Brown, Bob Lord, and Harry Potts.

The club also lifted the FA Cup once in 1914, and lifted the Community Shield twice, in 1960 and 1973. The Clarets also reached the 1961 quarter-finals of the European Cup. They are one of only five teams to have won all top four professional divisions of English football, along with Wolverhampton Wanderers, Preston North End, Sheffield United, and Portsmouth.

Just twenty years later, in 1979/80, Burnley were relegated to the Third Division — the first time in their history they had played in the third tier of English football. Five years later, the team competed in the Fourth Division for the first time following another relegation, and on 9 May 1987, only a 2–1 home win against Orient saved Burnley from relegation to the Football Conference and possible dissolution. Burnley won promotion in 1991/92 to the third tier and again in 1999/2000 to the second tier, before being promoted to the Premier League in 2008/09, 2013/14 and 2015/16.

Burnley started playing their home games at the premises at Calder Vale before moving to Turf Moor on 17 February 1883, which has been redeveloped many times over the years. It is a very old ground and the capacity is small. There is a 21,800 seat capacity, which is relatively small for a Premier League side.

The rivals of Burnley are other local northern teams such as Blackburn Rovers, Bolton Wanderers and Wigan Athletic. The club is doing better than its rivals, playing in the first tier of English football while their rivals are playing League 1 football.

Burnley made some interesting signings in 2017 when they got promoted. As a newly-promoted side, their aim was to try and survive their first season back in the Premier League. In order to do this, they made several signings. They signed striker Robbie Brady from Norwich for £12million, a club-record signing. They also signed Jeff Hendrick from Derby for £10million, and Steven Defour from Anderlecht for £7million.

The highest-paid player in the club is versatile captain Ben Mee. The 32-year-old earns £55,000. Another player who surprisingly earns less is former Manchester City goalkeeper Joe Hart. The former England shot-stopper pockets £45,000-per-week. Another name worthy of mention is Aaron Lennon. The former Tottenham winger pockets £35,000-per-week

Burnley F.C. 2019-20 Payroll

Player Name           Age Weekly Wages     Contract until
Ben Mee 30 £55,000 2021
James Tarkowski 26 £50,000 2022
Chris Wood 27 £50,000 2021
Steven Defour 27 £45,000 2023
Joe Hart 32 £45,000 2020
Ashley Barnes 29 £40,000 2021
Ben Gibson 26 £40,000 2022
Jack Cork 30 £38,000 2021
Robbie Brady 27 £35,000 2020
Jeff Hendrick 36 £35,000 2020
Aaron Lennon 32 £35,000 2020
Nick Pope 27 £35,000 2023
Matej Vydra 27 £35,000 2021
Ashley Westwood 29 £33,000 2020
Johann Berg Gudmundsson 28 £30,000 2021
Phil Bardsley 34 £25,000 2020
Matthew Lowton 30 £25,000 2021
Charlie Taylor 26 £25,000 2021
Kevin Long 29 £23,000 2021
Adam Legzdins 32 £500,00 2020
Dwight McNeil 19 £50,00 2023


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here