2023 Women’s World Cup Group Stage Draw Released

Spread the love

The 2023 Women’s World Cup draw, held in Auckland on Saturday, October 22, has been released with eight groups formed for the first time in the history of the tournament.

World Cup
2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup Group Stage Draw Released

All is now set for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup which kicks off on July 20, 2022.

Australia and New Zealand will host the one-month tournament with the defending champions, USWNT, to begin their title defense in Group E.

Three spots are still up for grabs in the tournament, but the 29 teams that have qualified already have now known their respective opponents.

The three teams have known their placements in the groups already despite not qualifying yet for the competition.

The remaining three spots for playoff winners will be placed in Group D, E, and F.

Group winners and their runners-up will make it to the next round of the competitions, with the bottom two teams crashing out.

See also  Samuel Eto'o is the new president of Cameroon FA

New Zealand, the tournament co-host, will open the tournament against Norway after being drawn into Group A along Philipines and another European side Switzerland.

World Cup
USMNT are defending champions

The second cohort, Australia is being drawn in Group B, alongside African giants, Nigeria, Republic of Ireland and Canada.

Group C has European giants Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, and Japan.

European champions, the Lioness of England, are placed in Group D alongside Denmark and China, with the last spot reserved for a playoff winner in one of the three spots remaining.

The USWNT will start their defense of the trophy in Group E alongside Asian side Vietnam, and European side the Netherlands, with the last spot reserved for another playoff winner.

The last playoff spot has been reserved in Group F, which is made of France, Brazil, and Jamaica.

Group G can be termed as the group of death consisting of African Champions South Africa, Argentina, Italy, and Sweden.

Euros Women finalist Germany, are drawn alongside Morocco, Korea Republic, and Colombia in Group H.

See also  Erling Haaland Wins Premier League Player Of The Month After Just A Month In EPL

Group A

New Zealand




Group B


Republic of Ireland



Group C


Costa Rica



Group D


Playoff winner



Group E




Playoff winner

Group F




Playoff winner

Group G


South Africa



Group H




Korea Republic.

Match schedules

The group stage f the competition I scheduled to take place from July 20-August 3.

There will be a two-days break before the round of 16 knockout kicks off on August 5 to August 8.

The quarterfinals will start on August 11 to August 12, before the Semifinals on August 15 and 16.

The Third-place playoff comes up on August 19 before the grand finale on August 20.

No African team has won the tournament, including Nigeria, despite dominating the African continent.

Nigeria will open its 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup campaign against Canada on July 21, 2023, before taking on Australia and the Republic of Ireland.

See also  Manchester United Bows To Neighbour Club, Manchester City [1:4]; Ronaldo Missing

The matches will be streamed live on online platforms such as Bein Sport and other streaming websites.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: