What we know about the 2020 FIFA Awards


The 2020 FIFA Awards will be held on December 17 virtually as the world continues to battle the COVID-19 pandemic.

The virtual ceremony will be broadcasted live from the Home of FIFA in Zurich, Switzerland.

The governing body on Friday announced the finalists for the event during an online media event with FIFA Legends Hope Powell, Christie Pearce Rampone, Gilberto Silva and Pablo Aimar.

Who are those shortlisted for FIFA 2020 Awards?

Below are the shortlisted candidates for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2020 are in alphabetical order.

The Best FIFA Women’s Player:

Lucy Bronze (England / Olympique Lyonnais / Manchester City WFC)
Pernille Harder (Denmark / VfL Wolfsburg / Chelsea FC Women)
Wendie Renard (France / Olympique Lyonnais)

The Best FIFA Men’s Player:

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Juventus FC)
Robert Lewandowski (Poland / FC Bayern München)
Lionel Messi (Argentina / FC Barcelona)
The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper

Sarah Bouhaddi (France / Olympique Lyonnais)
Christiane Endler (Chile / Paris Saint-Germain)
Alyssa Naeher (USA / Chicago Red Stars)

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper

Alisson Becker (Brazil / Liverpool FC)
Manuel Neuer (Germany / FC Bayern München)
Jan Oblak (Slovenia / Atlético de Madrid)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach

Emma Hayes (England / Chelsea FC Women)
Jean-Luc Vasseur (France / Olympique Lyonnais)
Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands / Dutch national team)

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach

Marcelo Bielsa (Argentina / Leeds United FC)
Hans-Dieter Flick (Germany / FC Bayern München)
Jürgen Klopp (Germany / Liverpool FC)

FIFA Puskás Award:

Giorgian De Arrascaeta (URU) – Ceará SC v. CR Flamengo [Brasileirão – Brazil] (25 August 2019)
Son Heung-min (KOR) – Tottenham Hotspur FC v. Burnley FC [Premier League – England] (7 December 2019)
Luis Suárez (URU) – FC Barcelona v. RCD Mallorca [LaLiga] – Spain] (7 December 2019)

All winners, including those of the FIFA Fan Award and the FIFA Fair Play Award, will be crowned in the show that will be starting at 19:00 CET.

Who will host FIFA 2020 Awards?

The event will be hosted by multilingual English sports journalist and broadcaster, Reshmin Chowdhury and former Netherland international, Ruud Gullit.

Chowdhury who works for BT Sport, talkSPORT, and the BBC was also a presenter on the green carpet at The Best FIFA Football Awards at the Royal Festival Hall in London two years ago.

This is not also the first time Gullit, a former AC Milan star will also be hosting the event. The former Netherland coach has also enjoyed a long career as a pundit and TV presenter with some of the most important networks around the world.

FIFA 2020 Awards: Spotlight on Men’s Award

Much of the attention will be on the Men’s category award.

Lewandowski had enjoyed success with Bayern Munich last season. The Polish is therefore tipped to take home the price to break the duopoly of Messi and Ronaldo once again as done by Luca Modric in 2018.

The Polish striker won the Champions League, German Cup and the German Bundesliga last season, emerging as the highest goalscorer of the competitions with over 50 goals across all of them.

Messi went trophyless for the first time in his career with Barcelona last season while Ronaldo won the Scudetto with a ‘not so convincing’ Juventus.

All in, let’s look forward to another memorable event. You can drop your comments below on who you think will be the likely winners of the awards of each category.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here