Top 10 Most Successful Managers In English Premier League History


Tacticians who have dominated the game have trophies to show for their dominance in a given competition and such is the case for managers, past and present, in the English Premier League.

The massive gulf in dominance is evidently clear on the list of managers with the most Premier League titles.

But there are still managers who have also achieved a considerable level of success over the years.

This intends to give you a breakdown of the most successful managers in Premier League history since 1992.

Futballnews would be filling you in on a list full of iconic managerial names and the number of Premier League titles they won.

10) Jurgen Klopp – 1

Jurgen Klopp

The German tactician who is coaching Liverpool in the top-flight league in England has spent eight seasons in the Premier League and won one Premier League title.

He led Liverpool to the crown in the 2019/20 season winning the club’s first English Premier League title which was the Reds 19th English league title in total.

He came close twice to doubling or increasing that tally to three but on every occasion he hasn’t been able to surmount the pressure from Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City.

9) Claudio Ranieri – 1

Claudio Ranieri

The Italian has managed four sides in the English Premier League namely Chelsea, Leicester City, Fulham and Watford.

Ranieri was the manager who miraculously managed the Foxes to the 2015/16 crown. He spent 8 seasons in the league.

The 71-year-old led a team that cost £23 million to the trophy over sides with squad valuations ten times that amount.

8) Manuel Pellegrini – 1

Manuel Pellegrini

The Chilean led Manchester City to the 2013/14 English Premier League title in a remarkable manner.

The Citizens had to take advantage of Liverpool’s “slip” in the dying embers of the campaign to be crowned champions.

Pellegrini managed for 5 seasons in the English Premier League coaching only two sides namely Manchester City and West Ham United.

7) Carlo Ancelotti – 1

Carlo Ancelotti

The Real Madrid manager who has an amazing CV having managed several clubs in his career also has one Premier League title to his name.

Ancelotti won the 2009/10 title with Chelsea and he spent 4 seasons in England managing only two clubs, Chelsea and Everton.

6) Roberto Mancini – 1

Roberto Mancini

The Italian tactician managed only Manchester City in England from 2009 till 2013.

Mancini won the famous “Agueroooooo by Martin Tyler” Premier League title in the 2011/12 season.

5) Antonio Conte – 1

Antonio Conte

The dogmatic and tactical Italian who recently was dismissed by Tottenham Hotspur won the 2016/17 English top-flight title.

Conte submerged managers like Jose Mourinho, Pep Guardiola, Arsene Wenger amongst others to the crown.

The former Inter Milan manager has only managed two teams in England namely Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur, he spent 4 seasons also in the Premier League.

4) Arsene Wenger – 3

Arsene Wenger

A man highly revered for his style of play and impact on English football won the Premier League title thrice in 22 seasons.

Wenger was made a hall of famer alongside Sir Alex Ferguson in March 2023 and he remains the only manager to have gone unbeaten for an entire season.

The Frenchman won the 1997/98, 2001/02, 2003/04 Premier League title.

3) Jose Felix Mourinho – 3

Jose Mourinho

A man truly special at what he does, he is pragmatic, tactical and efficient. 

Mourinho who is popularly known as “The Special One” spent 12 seasons in the English top-flight and he won 3 English Premier League titles.

He previously managed only three sides in the Premier League namely; Chelsea, Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspur.

The current manager of AS Roma won the 2004/05, 2005/06 and 2014/15 top-flight title.

2) Pep Guardiola – 5

Pep Guardiola

The Spaniard is a genius, truly wonderful at what he does and he currently has a domineering chokehold on the English top-flight.

Josep “Pep” Guardiola has spent 7 seasons so far in the league and he has won 5 English Premier League titles.

He is the manager of Manchester City, the current holders of the title.

The 52-year-old won the 2017/18, 2018/19, 2020/21, 2021/22 and 2022/23 English Premier League title.

1) Sir Alex Ferguson – 13

Sir Alex Ferguson

No manager dead or alive in the English Premier League has had the kind of dominance the Scotsman had in the English Premier League.

“Fergie” for short won 13 English top-flight titles in 21 seasons as manager of Manchester United.

He is widely regarded as the greatest manager of all time.

Sir Alex Ferguson won the 1992/93, 1993/94, 1995/96, 1996/97, 1998/99, 1999/2000, 2000/01, 2002/03, 2006/07, 2007/08, 2008/09, 2010/11 and the 2012/13 title where he bowed out on a high.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here