PFA Release Player of the Year Nominees

Jordan Henderson led Liverpool to their first EPL trophy in 30 years under Jurgen Klopp

On Friday the 4th of September, PFA released the shortlist for the PFA Player of the Year award and, of course, Premier League champions Liverpool dominated the men’s category.

Four Liverpool players were nominated for the prestigious award as their title success did not go on noticed after they finished 18-points clear of second-placed Manchester City. 

Virgil van Dijk, Sadio Mane, Trent Alexander-Arnold, and Jordan Henderson were all shortlisted as potential winners of the PFA POTY.

LEICESTER, ENGLAND – DECEMBER 26: (THE SUN OUT, THE SUN ON SUNDAY OUT) Trent Alexander-Arnold of Liverpool celebrating after scoring a goal during the Premier League match between Leicester City and Liverpool FC at The King Power Stadium on December 26, 2019 in Leicester, United Kingdom. (Photo by John Powell/Liverpool FC via Getty Images)

Virgil van Dijk, who was last year’s winner, is on the list for the second time running. His influence in the Liverpool squad has been unmatched as his presence provided the Reds with solidity in their backline.

Sadio Mane was simply superb last season. His 22 goals were vital in the club’s title triumph, alongside side fellow attacker Mo Salah.

The third Liverpool man on the list, Jordan Henderson, comes as no surprise. He captained Liverpool to their first League title in 30 years, while commanding the tempo of their play in the center of the park.

Liverpool full-back Alexander-Arnold who is also nominated for the Young Player of the Year is the final man from the Liverpool squad to appears in the list of nominees for the main men’s prize. 

The six-man shortlist of completed by Manchester City duo Kevin De Bruyne and Raheem Sterling.

Men’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year nominees

Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

Sadio Mane (Liverpool)

Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

For the Young Player of the Year award, nominees had to be 21 or under on July 1, 2019. 

Alexander-Arnold is joined by Chelsea striker Tammy Abraham and teammate Mason Mount, Manchester United duo Marcus Rashford and Mason Greenwood, and finally Arsenal teenager Bukayo Saka.

Men’s PFA Young Player of the Year nominees

Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

Tammy Abraham (Chelsea)

Mason Mount (Chelsea)

Mason Greenwood (Manchester United)

Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)

Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here