Maiden Edition Of The 32-team FIFA Club World Cup To Be Hosted By United States Of America In 2025

Spread the love

The maiden edition of the expanded Club World Cup which will feature 32 teams in 2025 will be hosted by the United States Of America, according to FIFA.

The president of FIFA, Gianni Infantino has said that the tournament will be “the pinnacle” of top men’s club football.

12 teams from the European continent will be participating in the tournament, including the last three winners of the UEFA Champions League.

Top teams like Chelsea, Real Madrid and Manchester City will feature in the competition, having won the last three UEFA Champions League.

United States Host Maiden Club World Cup
Real Madrid are the winners of the FIFA 2022 Club World Cup

The 12 clubs that will participate in the 32-team Club World Cup in 2025 will include the winner of the 2024 Champions League.

Europe’s best eight ranked teams will also be selected to represent the continent in the global tournament that will be held every four years.

Brazilian teams Palmeiras and Flamengo have already been confirmed as clubs who will represent South America in the competition after winning the Copa Libertadores.

See also  EPL Table Ranking: What happens if you tie?

Mexican clubs Monterrey and Leon will also represent North America after winning the CONCACAF Champions League in 2021 and 2023 respectively.

Major League Soccer side Seattle Sounders who won the CONCACAF Champions League in 2022 will also be participating in the tournament.

Clubs that will represent Africa at the maiden Club World Cup

Wydad Athletic Club, Al Ahly SC and the next two winners of the CAF Champions League will represent Africa.

United States Host Maiden Club World Cup
Al Ahly have won two out of the last three CAF Champions League titles

Al Ahly SC have won two of the last three CAF Champions League titles, so it uncertain which club will be joining the two clubs.

The scheduling of the event as regards to the dates and time has not been done but it is understood that it will be played in June.

World League Forum haven’t really bought into the idea

The ECA (European Club Association) has supported the idea, however, the World League Forum shared worries over the decision made by FIFA.

Their worries have to do with the “unilateral” decision of FIFA to put the new event in the footballing calendar.

See also  Who is The Best Coach in The Premier League Now?

Saudi Arabia will host the 20th edition of the Club World Cup, which will be played from the 12th – 22nd of December 2023.

Real Madrid came out victorious in the last edition of the tournament, hosted by Morocco which was held in February 2023.

United States Host Maiden Club World Cup
Flamengo won the 2022 Copa Libertadores title

Morocco were also hosts of the 2013 and 2014 edition of the FIFA Club World Cup.

The annual tournament has over the years been competed among only 7 teams, with Real Madrid being the team who have won the competition the most.

The next three years is set to be a busy one in sport for America as they will also co-host the 2026 World Cup alongside Canada and Mexico.

Gianni Infantino’s comments on the expanded Club World Cup that will be hosted by the United States Of America

Speaking concerning the expanded Club World Cup which will commence in 2025, Gianni Infantino expressed that the US are the perfect host to kick start the world-wide tournament.

See also  Ilkay Gundogan And Wife Sara Arfaoui Had a Good Time At ColdPlay Concert
Gianni Infantino

Infantino said: “The FIFA Club World Cup 2025 will be the pinnacle of elite professional men’s club football, and with the required infrastructure in place together with a massive local interest, the United States is the ideal host to kick off this new, global tournament.”

The Swiss-Italian also spoke about how fans will be bringing their “energy” and “passion” during the maiden edition of the expanded Club World Cup.

He said: “With some of the world’s top clubs already qualified, fans from every continent will be bringing their passion and energy to the United States in two years’ time for this significant milestone in our mission to make football truly global.”

As earlier indicated, 12 teams will represent Europe and they will make up more than one-third of the participants in the tournament.

For South America, 6 teams will represent the continent while Africa, Asia, North America and Central America have four slots each.

%d bloggers like this: