Liverpool lifts the trophy as the premier league champion for the year 2020

Spread the love

Liverpool was presented with the English Premier League Trophy after an emphatic 5-3 win over Chelsea at Anfield.  The stage was set right at the Kop end stand, which would typically serve as the heartbeat of the Liverpool support.

Not even Christian Pulisic’s second-half super-sub performance could spot the fireworks at Anfield.

Liverpool’s Anfield has been a fortress for the Reds with 46 matches unbeaten in the league, with their last defeat far back as April 2017 when Christian Benteke in a 1-2 loss to Crystal Palace.

Liverpool, over the turn of the year, have been crowned champions of Europe, and Champion of the world.

But a 30 years wait to lift the title was worth the wait. The last time the Merseyside club won the English League dates back to when the team came from behind to beat QPR when Sir Kenny Daglish was in charge of the club as they topped the table nine points clear of Aston Villa at the to win their 18th league title.

See also  Antonio Rudiger of Chelsea Gives Reason Why Premier League Should not Resume

Winning the league in style.

The Reds have set the league ablaze on their road to winning the EPL for the 2019/2020 season with  Liverpool breaking, matching, and setting new records.

The Reds created a new record for the highest numbers of home wins in a row as they won 21 consecutive home league matches, they also hold the record for the earliest title win with seven games to spare.

Not just that, they are also the team to reach 30 wins withing a record of 34 games played in the league, the best start to a season, and the highest numbers of a home win in a league season.

If you think that’s a lot,

Liverpool could still add to their list of records if they win their last match against Newcastle, they would match Man city’s record of the most win in a single season and the most prominent title-winning margin of 18- points.

Interestingly, the English Premier League trophy hadn’t worn a red ribbon since the 2012/2013 season when Manchester United last won the League under Sir Alex Ferguson.

See also  Virgil van Dijk's Historic Anfield Unbeaten Streak Broken As Leeds United Thrashed Jurgen Klopp's Men

Though, the pandemic may have taken away some of the fan fair attached to winning the title. Still, Liverpool fans would hope they don’t have to wait another three decades before they win the title again.

Liverpool manager Jurgen Kloop acknowledged the role of the fans

“We won this Trophy for the fans”.

%d bloggers like this: