England Stars Have Won The Most Golden Boot Award In The Last Decade In The EPL

Spread the love

England Internationals have won the most Golden Boots in the English Premier League in the last ten years than any other international players.

England Stars Have Won The Most Golden Boot Award In The Last Decade In The EPL
England Stars Have Won The Most Golden Boot Award In The Last Decade In The EPL.

Every season, the player or players who scored the most goals during that campaign are given the Golden Boot award by the Premier League.

From 1994 to 2001, it was known for sponsorship purposes as the Carling Golden Boot, from 2002 to 2004 as the Barclaycard Golden Boot, from 2005 to 2016 as the Barclays Golden Boot, from 2017 to 2020 as the Cadbury Golden Boot, and from 2021 to 2023 as the Coca-Cola Zero Sugar Golden Boot. It has been known as the Castrol Golden Boot since 2022.

Golden Boot winners typically receive a trophy and £1,000 for each goal they score over the season to contribute to a charity of their choice, though Robin van Persie received £30,000 after scoring 26 goals in the 2012–13 campaign.

See also  Wembley Stadium in England might no longer host Euro 2020 semi-final and Final

Note that the First Division clubs quit the Football League in 1992 to form the Premier League, a new commercially independent league that negotiated its broadcast and sponsorship deals.

The newly created league was simply known as the Premier League in its first season because it had no sponsor before Carling agreed to a four-year, £12 million deal that began the following season.

Teddy Sheringham was the first recipient of the award, which was then known as the “Premier League Golden Boot.” After the 1994–1995 season, the league fell from 22 to 20 clubs, which resulted in a 42–38 reduction in the number of games played.

Golden Boot Winners in The Last 10 Seasons

Mohamed Salah and Son Heung-min shared ownership of the trophy after scoring 23 goals each for Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspur in the 2021/22 season.

See also  Unai Emery payback Arsenal using Villarreal

Salah is now just the third player to have won it three times overall.

Thierry Henry, a legendary player for Arsenal, has won the Golden Boot a record four times. Between 2003–2004 and 2005–2006, he was one of just two players to do so.

England Stars Have Won The Most Golden Boot Award In The Last Decade In The EPL
Harry Kane celebrates his Golden Boot Award.

The other was Alan Shearer, who played for Newcastle United and Blackburn Rovers between 1994–1995 and 1996–1997.

YearWinner (s)TeamGoals
2011/12Robin van PersieARS30
2012/13Robin van PersieMUN26
2013/14Luis SuarezLIV31
2014/15Sergio AgueroMCI26
2015/16Harry KaneTOT25
2016/17Harry KaneTOT29
2017/18Mohamed SalahLIV32
Pierre-Emerick AubameyangARS22
2018/19Sadio ManeLIV22
Mohamed SalahLIV 22
2019/20Jamie VardyLEI23
2020/21Harry KaneTOT23
2021/22Mohammed SalahLIV23
Son Heung-minTOT23

Awards won by nationality

Ivory Coast12
South Korea11
Trinidad and Tobago11

Awards won by club

Manchester United5
Tottenham Hotspur5
Blackburn Rovers3
Manchester City2
Newcastle United2
Coventry City1
Leeds United1
Leicester City1

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: