Carabao Cup kicks off; as the first four rounds start in September with a change in rules.

Spread the love

The Carabao Cup will act as the season opener for the 2020/2021 English League as the first-four rounds will be played in September; the first round will be played on the 5th of September but maybe rescheduled if it clashes with international fixtures.

While the 2nd to 4th round will be played on consecutive mid-weeks from the 15/16th of September, the top-flight clubs in the EPL will enter the competition in either round two or three based on their league standing in the 2019/20 season.

The draw for the 1st round will take place on August 18, and it would be split into two sections, the Sothern and Northern, which would be for unseeded teams in the lower divisions.

See also  Latest on Transfer News Across Europe

Change of rules…

The Carabo cup for the first time has also confirmed that there will not be a two-legged semifinal, which would be replaced by one-off matches to determine the team to play at Wembley for the final. While the first team to be drawn will have the privilege of hosting the semifinal fixture.

February 28th has been picked as the projected date for the 2020/2021 Carabao final with semifinal fixtures played in the first week of 2021.

Serial winners

Liverpool is the most successful team in the competition with eight titles. At the same time, Manchester City had won the last three finals from 2017/18 season when they thumped Arsenal 3-0, 2018/19 was against Chelsea, and they won by a penalty shootout, in 2019/20 they defeated Aston Villa 2-1 to win their 7th Carabao title, they are just one title away from equaling Liverpool’s record.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: