2024/25 Carabao Cup First Round Draw [See Full Fixtures]


    The draw for the opening round of the 2024/25 English Football League (EFL) Cup also known as Carabao Cup was done on Thursday, June 27, 2024.

    Teams in the Championship, League One, and League Two enter the tournament at this phase, except Burnley and Luton Town, who were relegated from the Premier League in the 2023/24 season.

    Leeds United will trade tackles with Middlesbrough in one of the notable fixtures of the first round, while Sheffield United, who also tasted the bitter pill of relegation last season will square up against Wrexham, owned by Hollywood stars Ryan Reynolds and Rob McElhenney.

    English Premier League clubs will enter the tournament in the second round, with those playing in continental competitions joining the party in the third round.

    Who Are The Defending Champions Of The English Football League Cup ?

    Liverpool are the defending champions of the English Football League Cup, having defeated Chelsea 1-0 in the final last season, courtesy of a goal by Virgil Van Dijk.

    The final was pulsating and intense, with both teams exuding brilliance and playing their hearts out.

    Chelsea’s primary problem was their profligacy, with Liverpool taking full advantage in extra time.

    The Reds had momentarily put themselves into the lead through a Van Dijk header, which sailed into the bottom corner of Chelsea’s post.

    However, the goal was chalked off, after midfielder Endo Wataru was deemed to have interfered with play from an offside position, before the header by Virgil Van Dijk.

    The Reds are the most successful team in the competition’s history, as they have won the trophy on 10 different occasions.

    The tournament was founded in 1960 about 92 teams across the English football pyramid battle for glory.

    Clubs that win the English Football League Cup qualify for the UEFA Conference League play-off round and this certainly is a motivation to many of the smaller teams in England.

    Carabao Cup first-round games [Full fixtures]

    Northern Section:

    Salford City vs Doncaster Rovers

    Rotherham United vs Crewe Alexandra

    Carlisle United vs Stoke City

    Leeds United vs Middlesbrough

    Barrow United vs Port Vale

    Burton Albion vs Blackpool

    Tranmere Rovers vs Accrington Stanley

    Fleetwood Town vs West Bromwich Albion

    Shrewsbury Town vs Notts County

    Lincoln City vs Harrogate

    Derby County vs Chesterfield

    Bolton Wanderers vs Mansfield Town

    Preston North End vs Sunderland

    Sheffield United vs Wrexham

    Huddersfield Town vs Morecambe

    Wigan Athletic vs Barnsley

    Hull City vs Sheffield Wednesday

    Stockport County vs Blackburn Rovers

    Grimsby Town vs Bradford City

    Southern Section:

    Cambridge United vs Queens Park Rangers

    Walsall vs Exeter City

    Crawley Town vs Swindon Town

    Oxford United vs Peterborough United

    Norwich City vs Stevenage

    Bromley vs AFC Wimbledon

    Portsmouth vs Millwall

    Northampton Town vs Wycombe Wanderers

    Bristol City vs Coventry City

    Cardiff City vs Bristol Rovers

    Charlton Athletic vs Birmingham City

    Watford vs MK Dons

    Swansea City vs Gillingham

    Plymouth Argyle vs Cheltenham

    Leyton Orient vs Newport County

    The 2024/25 English Football League Cup will commence on August 13, 2024, with the first round of matches and it will be on until March 16, 2024, when the final will be played.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here