2023 UEFA Nations League Finals: Here Are All You Need To Know

Spread the love

The group stages of the 2023 UEFA Nations League have been concluded with shocking results. 2018 World Cup winners and defending Champions, France, has failed to make it to the finals. Here is all you have to know about the 2023 UEFA Nations League Finals.

UEFA Nations League
Portugal wins maiden edition of UEFA Nations League

The 2023 UEFA Nations League Final will be the third edition of a Europe-wide football competition involving all the 55 members of the Union Of European Football Association, UEFA.

The competition is played by the national senior men’s team of all UEFA members. It was designed as an alternative to frequent international friendlies during international breaks.

The UEFA Nations League provided a more organized platform for UEFA members to utilize the international break with an organized tournament featuring all European teams divided into League A and League B with two groups each for Tier A.

There is the second tier, Tier B, to which teams that have finished bottom of the fours groups in Tier A will be relegated to.

See also  Official: Tottenham Hotspur are Premier League title contenders

2023 UEFA Nations League Format

Pending formal approval by the UEFA Executive Committee, the 2023 UEFA Nations League Finals will be held from 14 to 18 June 2023 in the Netherlands. The four group winners of League A will contest for the trophy with two semi-finals, a third-place playoff, and a final to determine the winner.

Taking place over five days intervals, the 2023 UEFA Nations League Finals will be played in single-leg knockout matches on 14 and 15 June 2023, the first of which featuring the host team.

Teams are grouped into four groups

Three days after the second semi-final, the third-place playoff and the final will take place. An open draw will be conducted to determine how the Semi-finals will be paired.

After a regulation time, some slightly varying measures have been adopted to settle matches that end in a tie without a winner.

Thirty minutes extra time will be adopted in the semi-finals if the scores are leveled. After the 30 minutes are exhausted without a winner, the match went into a penalty shootout.

See also  Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang must have offended coach Mikel Arteta of Arsenal

In the third-place playoff, there will be no additional 30 minutes of extra time. There will only be a penalty shootout if the game ends in a draw after normal time.

Where It Will be Hosted

After Belgium, Poland, Wales, and the Netherlands, all from Group A4, announced their interest in hosting the tournament on 22 April 2022, the Netherlands subsequently won the group and emerged as the potential host subject to approval by UEFA.


UEFA Nations League
France are defending champions, have failed to qualify for 2023 Finals

The four qualified nations will have to submit a team list numbering up to 23. The list must be submitted ten days before the tournament kicks off. There must be at least three goalkeepers in the squad.

Qualified Teams

The four team that has qualified for the 2023 UEFA Nations League Final are Croatia (Winner Group A1), Spain (Winner Group A2), Italy (Winner Group A3) and Netherlands (Wiinner Group A4).

How Much will the winner of 2023 UEFA Nations League Finals get?

The winner of the 2023 Nations League will go home with €10.5m. The second-place team will win €9m, while the third-place winner pockets €8m. The third-place loser gets €8m.

See also  Duncan Ferguson rejects a permanent Job at Everton despite winning his first match in-charge

The tournament will take place in the Netherlands and will be streamed live on various online platforms such as BeinSport.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: