Players Who Have Played For Both Manchester United And Manchester City in The FA Cup


There is going to be the first Manchester Derby FA Cup final in history on June 3 after Manchester City and Manchester United qualified for the final of the tournament in the 2022-2023 season.

Before now, there have been players who had played for both Manchester United and Manchester City in the the FA Cup. The players are as followed:

1. Peter Schmeichel

One of the greatest Manchester United goalkeepers in history joined Manchester City in 2002 on a free transfer, making 29 appearances for the Manchester United neighbors.

Before joining Manchester City, he won three FA Cup titles, one Champions League, five Premier League titles, one UEFA Super Cup, one Carabao Cup, and four Commodity Shields with Manchester United.

In addition, Schmeichel was named three times Danish player of the year. Also, the goalkeeper won the UEFA Euros in 1992 and the Confederation Cup with Denmark.

While he was at Brondby IF, he won four Danish titles and one Danish Cup. In Sporting CP, the goalkeeper won two Portuguese Super Cups and one Portuguese title.

He made 40 appearances for Manchester United in the domestic cup tournament.

Schmeichel was red-carded once and had 21 clean sheets in the tournament. While he was at Manchester City, he only made one appearance in the FA Cup and made only one clean.

He failed to win the FA Cup title at the Blue Side of Manchester. His career ended in 2003 after his time at Manchester City.

2. Andy Cole

The English striker switched sides from Newcastle United to Manchester United in 1995 after scoring 55 goals in 70 appearances for the Magpies.

When he came to Manchester United, he never stopped scoring goals for the Red Devils. In the Premier League, the striker scored 12 goals in 18 games in his first season.

He ended up with 275 appearances, 121 goals, and 45 assists. Andy Cole was the first English player to win the double with Manchester United.

The striker won the Champions League, five Premier Leagues, two FA Cups, one Carabao Cup, and four Community Shields. Cole also won an Intercontinental Cup and a second-tier title.

He switched to Manchester City in 2005, where he played 23 matches, scored 10 goals, and created five assists.

He made just a single FA Cup appearance for Manchester City and scored a goal.

3. Carlos Tevez

Tevez joined Manchester United on a two-year loan from West Ham. The Argentine was part of the Manchester United squad that won the Premier League and the Champions League in 2008.

He was part of the Red Devils trio (Cristiano Ronaldo, Wayne Rooney, and himself) who scored countless goals for the red side of Manchester under the tutelage of Sir Alex Ferguson.

Tevez won the FIFA Club World Cup, two Premier League titles, one Carabao Cup, and two Community Shields.

He was named footballer of the year eight different times. Tevez was the top scorer at two different times (the Premier League and the Olympics).

Manchester United

The striker scored 34 goals and created 14 assists in 99 appearances for Manchester United.

Upon the expiration of his two-year deal with the Red Devils, he joined Manchester City, and that didn’t sit well with the Manchester United players and the fans.

He won the Community Shield in 2013, the FA Cup title, and the Premier League with Manchester City. He made 148 appearances, scored 73 goals, and had 35 assists during his stay at the club.

4. Denis Law

Denis Law was part of the memorial holy trinity and won a lot of trophies. Law first played for Manchester City after joining Huddersfield Town in the 1960s. His deal with Manchester City then was regarded as the British record fee of £55,000.

The striker spent just one year at Manchester City and Torino before moving to the Red Devils in 1962. He scored 28 goals in 57 appearances for Manchester City.

Manchester United

Also in Torino, the striker scored 10 goals in 28 appearances for the Italian side.

In 1964, the striker won the Ballon d’Or, becoming the first Manchester United player to win the prestigious award.

Law won the Champions League, two Premier League titles, one FA Cup, and two Community Shields with Manchester United. In 307 appearances, Law scored 184 goals and created one assist.

He ended his Manchester United career as a legend and the third-highest goal scorer in the history of Manchester United.

5. Owen Hargreaves

Owen joined Manchester United from Bayern Munich in 2007 for £17 million. Sir Alex Ferguson loved the midfielder’s style of play, but injuries made it difficult for the club to retain him.

Owen made just 39 appearances for the Red Devils, scoring two goals and two assists. He won the Champions League and three Premier League titles with Manchester United.

Manchester United

He then moved to Manchester City in 2011, where he made just four appearances and scored just one goal. However, he won the Premier League title with the Citizens.

6. Jadon Sancho

The English winger joined Red Devils from Borussia Dortmund on a €85 million deal. It was one of the biggest deals in Manchester United’s history.

Manchester United

He won the Carabao Cup with the Red Devils. In 71 appearances, the winger scored just 11 goals, and he has not lived up to expectations since he was signed for that amount.

He also played for Manchester City U-18, U-21, and U-19, where he made 35 appearances and scored 20 goals in all competitions.

Sancho was not given the chance to play for the senior side of Manchester City before he joined Dortmund where he made his name in the game.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here