Most Ballon D’Or Win In The History Of The Award

Spread the love

Most Ballon D’Or: Lionel Messi was named the best player of the year for a record seventh time, but how does he stack up against former winners of the prestigious award?

Most Ballon D'Or Win In The History Of The Award

In 2021, Messi was awarded the Ballon D’Or winner despite Robert Lewandowski having the best individual performances ever recorded last year.

In his career, the Argentine hero has received the honor seven times. We’ll look at how everyone compares to his record-breaking total.

Who has received the most Ballons d’Or awards?

In the history of the Ballon d’Or award, Messi has won the most awards. Ten players in total have won the trophy more than once, with Messi leading the way with seven victories.

His arch rival, Cristiano Ronaldo, is in second place and has won it five times.

See also  Hungary fans clashed with police at Wembley as England drew 1-1
Lionel Messi 7
Cristiano Ronaldo 5
Johan Cruyff 3
Marco van Basten3
Michel Platini3
Franz Beckenbauer2
Ronaldo de Lima 2
Alfredo Di Stefano2
Kevin Keegan2
Karl Heinz-Rummenigge2

Lionel Messi has won how many Ballon d’Or awards?

Messi won his first Ballon d’Or one year after coming in second place behind Ronaldo in the rankings.The former Barcelona player won his first of four consecutive Ballon d’Or as his rivalry with the Portuguese attacker captivated world football.

Before being ranked first once more the following year, he finished second to Ronaldo in 2013 and 2014. The fifth award didn’t come until 2015, while the sixth wasn’t given until 2019.

He has already increased his career total to seven in 2021.

Cristiano Ronaldo has won how many Ballons d’Or?

For the first time, Ronaldo finished in the top three in 2007, however he placed second that year to AC Milan legend Kaka.

Most Ballon D'Or Win In The History Of The Award

Ronaldo’s ambition came true a year later when he won the title for the first time, but it would take him several more years of close calls before he would win his second trophy.

See also  Video of Nigerians destroying 60,000 capacity stadium in Abuja after Ghana stopped Nigeria from qualifying for 2022 FIFA World Cup

As his rivalry with Messi persisted, he went on to win the 2014, 2016 and 2017 honors.

Pele has won how many Ballons d’Or?

Occurrence in Brazil due to a regulation prohibiting non-European players from winning the Ballon d’Or until that rule was lifted in 1995, Pele was never awarded the award.

The three-time World Cup champion would have had seven victories to his credit, making him the record holder until Messi surpassed him in 2021, according to information released by France Football.

The years that the French magazine, organisers of the award, says Pele would have won the Ballon d’Or are listed below:

Year Club side
1970 Santos

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: