Manchester United Has Not Won A Major Trophy Since 2016-2017 

Spread the love

On Friday, August 5, a new Premier League season began, featuring many games with plenty of surprises and shocking outcomes. The fans of Manchester United were on the receiving end of the bad side of week one.

Some of the stunning games of week one included the match between Fulham and Liverpool, which ended in a frustrating draw for Liverpool, and the match between Manchester United and Brighton on Sunday, which saw United lose at Old Trafford. 

The quality of Manchester United will be revealed, as well as how they have deteriorated since their heyday with a trophy drought from 2016–2017. 

Paul Pogba

Manchester United now holds the record for most championships in the English top division (20 victories since 1889). The FA Cup, the oldest domestic soccer competition in the world, has been won by them 12 times, most recently in 2016. 

Only Arsenal FC, who have won the cup 13 times, has a higher total. The London squad overtook Manchester United after winning their 13th championship by defeating Chelsea 2-1 in the 2016–17 campaign. 

See also  Transfer Update On Harry Kane, Kylian Mbappe, Bernardo Silva, Harry Maguire, Scott McTominay, Lavia, Fabinho, And Others

Since the Premier League’s debut at the start of the 1992–1993 season, Manchester United has won the majority of its championships under the direction of manager Sir Alex Ferguson.  

Manchester United winning the Europa League

United’s most recent championship was won during the 2012–13 campaign, Ferguson’s final season in charge before his departure.  

The fact that Manchester City, a rival team from the same city, won the Premier League trophy in 2018, 2019, 2021, and 2022 will have made this title drought worse. 

Unquestionably, Manchester United is one of the largest football clubs in the world. 

Manchester United with FA Cup
Manchester United winning the title

The importance of the brand off the pitch has increased even though previous years have seen a dearth of success on the field. 

The club makes a sizable amount of money through matchday events and television, but its commercial division is where it makes the most money. 

This is hardly surprising given that the club enjoys sizable support not only in the United Kingdom but also throughout the rest of the world, particularly in Asia. 

Though Manchester United are considered one of the biggest clubs in the world, according to history, silverware has become scarce ever since Sir Alex Ferguson retired. 

See also  Chelsea Made History By Spending More Than all the Clubs In a Single Transfer Window

In 2021, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s Red Devils team came close to winning a title, but in the end, Villarreal won the Europa League final, and the club legend left his position empty-handed. While they wait, they were eliminated from the Champions League in 2021–2022 and must continue to wait.

So when exactly did Manchester United last lift a trophy? 

The Europa League was the last prize that Manchester United won in May 2017. 

The Red Devils, then led by Jose Mourinho, defeated Ajax in the UEFA competition’s championship match by a score of 2-0, with goals from Paul Pogba and Henrikh Mkhitaryan. 

In the club’s history, it was the first time they had triumphed in the contest which featured players like Henrikh Mkhitaryan, Marouane Fellani, Christ Smalling, Marcus Rashford, Daley Blind, Paul Pogba, Sergio Romaro, Juan Mata, Matteo Darmian, Antonio Valencia, and Daley Blind.

The club would not have qualified for the Champions League the following season had they not won the Europa League, they finished sixth in the Premier League that season.

See also  Liverpool Vs Arsenal: Reds Come From Two Goals Down to Share Spoils With Arsenal [Video Highlights]

In February 2017, United defeated Southampton 3-2 in the Carabao Cup final at Wembley to win the competition. 

In a man-of-the-match effort, Zlatan Ibrahimovic notched two goals, with Jesse Lingard also contributing. 

They also won the Community Shield in 2016, giving supporters reason to brag about a “treble” of awards in 2016–17.

Legendary stars like Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Wayne Rooney were part of the Manchester United team during the 2016–17 season, the year they last won a trophy. 

Before his March 2017 departure for the Chicago Fire, Bastian Schweinsteiger was also listed on the roster. 

After completing a high-profile transfer from Juventus, Paul Pogba had his comeback season, and Henrikh Mkhitaryan came from Borussia Dortmund. 

Memphis Depay who is now a Barca player, was on United’s roster when the 2016-2017 season began, however, he left in January 2017 to join Lyon.

%d bloggers like this: