Joshua Kimmich Slams Anthony Taylor’s Penalty Decision In Germany’s Euro 2024 Exit

0
185

Joshua Kimmich has lamented Germany’s Euro 2024 quarter-final exit to Spain, describing it as very unfair.

Germany was knocked out of Euro 2024 after a 2-1 extra-time defeat to Spain in the quarter-finals in Stuttgart on Friday, June 5.

However, Germany midfielder Joshua Kimmich has insisted that referee Anthony Taylor denied a spot kick during their 2-1 defeat to Spain in the Euro 2024 quarterfinals on Friday.

How it happened?

Controversy erupted in the quarterfinal match between Spain and Germany at the 2024 Euro tournament when a handball by Spanish full-back Marc Cucurella went unpunished in the Stuttgart Arena.

Joshua Kimmich

During the second half of extra time, Jamal Musiala’s shot hit Cucurella’s wrist inside the box, prompting all German players including their coach Julian Nagelsmann to appeal for a penalty kick.

Despite the strong protests, referee Anthony Taylor declined to award a penalty after consulting with his refereeing team.

In the end, Spain emerged victorious as Mikel Merino scored the winning goal in the 119th minute utilising Dani Olmo’s wonderful cross.

Joshua Kimmich expressed his displeasure over Taylor’s decision

Joshua Kimmich has maintained that his country should have been awarded a penalty.

The midfielder said this despite UEFA’s rules for the tournament having a reasonable explanation for ignoring their penalty call.

Speaking after the game, Joshua Kimmich expressed his disappointment at the result, saying he felt Germany deserved more.

“Unfortunately, it was very unfair. We were much better in the second half and in extra time. Spain just wanted to take the game to penalties. We had two really good chances after conceding the goal and we should have had a penalty,” he said.

Comparing the elimination to Germany’s group-stage exit at Qatar, Kimmich said he has a “completely different” feeling now.

The Bayern Munich player added: “We weren’t a team there. This time it’s completely different. The last six weeks have been very special, the team spirit we have had.”

“I haven’t experienced that so often. That’s why the disappointment is even greater than at the other tournaments. We didn’t deserve it then.

“Today was completely different. We were the better team against a very good Spain side.”

What are the rules regarding handball in football?

According to the International Football Association Board (IFAB), which determines the rules of football, the following are the offenses for which a handball is given by the referee.

If the handball offense takes place in the penalty box of a player’s team, a spot-kick to the opponent is awarded by the referee.

The following are the reasons why handball offense can be punished in a football game:

1. Deliberately touching the ball with their hand/arm, for example moving the hand/arm towards the ball.

2. Touching the ball with their hand/arm when it has made their body unnaturally bigger.

A player is considered to have made their body unnaturally bigger when the position of their hand/arm is not a consequence of, or justifiable by, the player’s body movement for that specific situation.

By having their hand/arm in such a position, the player takes a risk of their hand/arm being hit by the ball and being penalized.

3. Scores in the opponents’ goal: directly from their hand/arm, even if accidental, including by the goalkeeper; or immediately after the ball has touched their hand/arm, even if accidental.

4. An accidental handball that leads to a team-mate scoring a goal or having a goal-scoring opportunity will no longer be considered an offense.

Expert explanation that condemns Joshua Kimmich’s claim

Referee Anthony Taylor’s decision has generated widespread speculation and debate among football lovers who have seen such situations given as penalties on many occasions.

ESPN editor, Dale Johnson, has provided a detailed explanation of the UEFA rules after the match.

The editor wrote on X, former Twitter, stating that: “UEFA’s pre-tournament briefing on handballs gave a specific example just like Marc Cucurella, saying it should NOT be a handball penalty.”

“Arm close to the side, pointing predominantly down/vertically, and/or a position behind the line of the body.”

Therefore, Referee Taylor made a professional decision to not call a penalty, as the handball was not considered intentional.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here