Erling Haaland Set To Break EPL Record Of Most Goals Scored In A Season


Erling Haaland is on his way to breaking the Premier League’s most goals scored in a season after netting 28 times with 11 matches left.

Erling Haaland Set To Break EPL Record Of Most Goals Scored In A Season

Before May, Erling Haaland is attempting to set the record for the most Premier League goals in a single season, which might be a game-changing milestone.

Since Andy Cole set the record in 1994, no one has surpassed it, although Alan Shearer came close in 1995.

If Haaland wants to surpass Cole’s heroic record, he has a huge opportunity this season with only a single-digit number of goals left to score in 2022–2023.

Based on his form since he joined Manchester City last season, Haaland should be able to score seven goals in the remaining 11 Premier League games, to surpass Cole’s age-long goalscoring league record.

The complete list of all-time leading goal scorers in the history of the Premier League as well as the players Haaland will be aiming to surpass and join is provided by Futballnews below:

Most goals scored in a single Premier League season

All players who have scored 30+ Premier League goals in a season.

  1. Andy Cole (Newcastle, 1993/94) – 34 goals
  2. Alan Shearer (Blackburn, 1994/95) – 34 goals
  3. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, 2017/18) – 32 goals
  4. Luis Suarez (Liverpool, 2013/14) – 31 goals
  5. Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United, 2007/08) – 31 goals
  6. Alan Shearer (Blackburn, 1993/94) – 31 goals
  7. Alan Shearer (Blackburn, 1995/96) – 31 goals
  8. Harry Kane (Tottenham, 2017/18) – 30 goals
  9. Robin van Persie (Arsenal, 2011/12) – 30 goals
  10. Thierry Henry (Arsenal, 2003/04) – 30 goals
  11. Kevin Phillips (Sunderland, 1999/00) – 30 goals
Erling Haaland Set To Break EPL Record Of Most Goals Scored In A Season

Top Premier League goalscorers of all time

  1. Alan Shearer – 260 goals (441 games)
  2. Wayne Rooney – 208 goals (491 games)
  3. Harry Kane – 201 goals (307 games)
  4. Andy Cole – 187 goals (414 games)
  5. Sergio Aguero – 184 goals (275 games)
  6. Frank Lampard – 177 goals (609 games)
  7. Thierry Henry – 175 goals (258 games)
  8. Robbie Fowler – 163 goals (379 games)
  9. Jermain Defoe – 162 goals (496 games)
  10. Michael Owen – 150 goals (326 games)

Erling Haaland

Erling Braut Haaland, a striker for Manchester City of the Premier League and the Norwegian national team, was born in Norway on July 21, 2000.

He is regarded as one of the top players in the world and is well-known for his strength, pace, and ability to finish in the box.

Haaland played at the senior level for Bryne’s reserve and senior teams after progressing through the youth system.

After that, he relocated to Molde in 2017 and spent two seasons there, playing for their reserve team as well.

Haaland won two league championships and one Austrian Cup before signing with Austrian Bundesliga team Red Bull Salzburg in January 2019.

He transferred to German Bundesliga team Borussia Dortmund in December 2019, where he won the DFB-Pokal in 2020–21.

In the summer of 2022, he transferred to Manchester City for a fee of €60 million (£51.2 million).

Haaland netted his first hat-trick in the Premier League on August 27, 2022, in a 4-2 victory over Crystal Palace, and his second, a perfect hat-trick, four days later in a 6-0 victory over Nottingham Forest.

He broke the previous record by 14 matches, becoming the player with the most hat-tricks in the Premier League’s history.

In addition, he shattered Alan Shearer’s record of three hat-tricks in ten games during the 1994–95 season, becoming the Premier League player to score three hat-tricks in the fewest number of games (eight league games), breaking Michael Owen’s previous mark of 48 league games.

Erling Haaland Set To Break EPL Record Of Most Goals Scored In A Season

Haaland set a record for the quickest player to score 20 Premier League goals by scoring twice in City’s 3-1 away victory over Leeds United on December 28, 2022, bringing his total to 20 in just 14 games.

He did so by surpassing Sunderland’s Kevin Phillips’ previous mark by seven appearances.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here