England Announce Final 26-man Squad For 2022 Qatar World Cup

Spread the love

England have finally announced their 2022 World Cup with less than two weeks to the kick-off of the tournament.

England announce 2022 World Cup squad

As expected, there are major inclusions and exclusions, with key Premier League names making the list.

Prolific Tottenham forward, Harry Kane, is expected to lead the squad to Qatar and has been included in the squad.

Manchester United, Real Madrid, Liverpool, and Manchester City target Jude Bellingham will have an opportunity to impress his suitors further as he has been included in the squad.

The Borussia Dortmund midfielder is expected to marshal the Three Lions’ midfield with other selected players.

Also selected in the midfield is highly-rated West Ham midfielder Declan Rice. Manchester City star Kalvin Philips, who recently returned from injury, is also in the squad.

Chelsea duo Conor Gallagher and Mason Mount are also included in the midfield, including Liverpool’s Jordan Henderson.

See also  Breaking: New development on Manchester United player Mason Greenwood and bail condition... He is facing charges of rape and physical assaults'

Three prolific shot-stoppers Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope and Aaron Ramsdale have been selected – all are Premier League players.

Manchester United’s duo Luke Shaw and Harry Maguire have been selected for the tournament. Liverpool’s Alexander Arnold is also selected.

Manchester City duo Kyle Walker and John Stones are also selected for the defense. Other defenders included in the defensive lineup include Kieran Trippier, Ben White, Conor Coady, and Eric Dier.

Gareth Southgate has picked eight players for the attacking lineup – all are Premier League players plying their trades in top clubs in England.

Joining the team captain, Harry Kane, in the attacking lineup is Manchester United’s youngster Marcus Rashford.

Manchester City attacking duo – Phil Foden and Jack Grealish are also included in the attack, including Callum Wilson, who will be making his World Cup debut with the team.

Leicester City’s James Maddison, Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka, and Chelsea’s Raheem Sterling are also in the attacking lineup.

See also  Saudi Arabia In Talks To Buy Newcastle for £340million

Full squad list

Goalkeepers: Pickford, Ramsdale, and Nick Pope.

Defenders: Luke Shaw, Conor Coady, Eric Dier, John Stones, Kieran Trippier, Ben White, Harry Maguire, Alexander Arnold, and Kyle Walker.

Midfielders: Conor Callagher, Kalvin Philips, Jude Bellingham, Declan Rice, and Mason Mount.

Forwards: Harry Kane, Jack Grealish, Marcus Rashford, Bukayo Saka, Raheem Sterling. Phil Foden, James Harrison, and Callum Wilson.

Major exclusions from the squad

There are some World Cup hopefuls that have been left out of the squad. One of the biggest names left out is Ivan Tony of Brentford.

Ivan Toney is in top form for Brentford and was called for the Three Lions squad for the first time in their last UEFA Nations League campaign.


Chelsea’s right-back is also left out due to his knee injury, which has left him incapacitated as he continues to recover.

Other top names excluded from the list are Tammy Abraham, Fikayo Tomori, Jarrod Bowen, Joe Gomez, and Ward-Prowse.

See also  Burnley 2020-2021 Premier League fixtures: Complete Match Schedule

England 2022 World Cup chance

The Three Lions is grouped alongside Iran USA and Wales. They are top favorites to top and qualify from the group.

There are still doubts on their chances off the group stage of the competition. Gareth Southgate is parading top and quality Premier League stars ahead of the tournament, but they are down the pecking order when other top favorites are considered.

Nevertheless, Southgate is still expected to go far with the squad in the tournament.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: