Community Shield: Jurgen Klopp has reiterated that he cannot wait to face Manchester City’s Erling Haaland

Spread the love

Jurgen Klopp has announced that his team is prepared to face Manchester City’s Erling Haaland in Saturday’s Community Shield match.

Jurgen Klopp has reiterated that he cannot wait to face Manchester City's Erling Haaland in Community Shield

In an interview with TribalFootball, Jurgen Klopp acknowledged that the former Borussia Dortmund player is one of his favorites.

He said, “It will be interesting.

“Haaland is a striker they haven’t had before, but we all know that Pep Guardiola makes it work, and that’s what we’re also trying with Darwin (Nunez). I love him.

“Erling is a fantastic player, without a doubt.”

The FA Community Shield is scheduled to take place on Saturday, July 30, 2022, which is a game between the winners of the FA Cup (Liverpool) and the champions of the Premier League (Manchester City).

Manchester City, who denied Liverpool the Premier League trophy for the second successive season, will attempt to force Liverpool to have a bad start to the 2022-2023 season with a defeat in the Community Shield which is a one-off game.

See also  Ederson reacts to a viral image that shows him squatting at the halfway line during the Manchester Derby

2022 FA Community Shield

On Saturday, Manchester City and Liverpool will square off in the 2022 FA Community Shield.

This weekend, the annual season opener will take place at the King Power Stadium between the Premier League Champions and the Emirates FA Cup winners.

City, who narrowly defeated rivals Liverpool to win the Premier League title again on the season’s final day in May, is aiming to win their first prize of the upcoming year.

Coincidentally, the Merseyside club won both domestic cup tournaments during the 2021–2022 season, and eliminated Man City in the semi-final stage of the FA Cup.

Guardiola may give four players their competitive debuts in Saturday’s game, which would mark City’s second straight appearance in the Community Shield after their dramatic Wembley Stadium loss to Leicester City last year.

See also  Whispers Report: Manchester United Eyes Odion Ighalo and Islam Slimani as loan targets
Jurgen Klopp has reiterated that he cannot wait to face Manchester City's Erling Haaland in Community Shield

The Premier League Champions have added Erling Haaland, Kalvin Phillips, Julian Alvarez, and Stefan Ortega to their roster during the course of the summer, which has witnessed a significant overhaul of the Catalan first team.

Last weekend, Haaland scored the game-winning goal in just 11 minutes of action to help his team defeat Bayern Munich 1-0 in preseason action in the United States.

The Blues won both of their preseason games in the United States, including a 2-1 triumph against Club America of Mexico before facing the Bundesliga Champions in Texas.

As a result of their absence from the US tour, Phil Foden, Ilkay Gundogan, John Stones, and Aymeric Laporte will get a chance to play against Liverpool on Saturday to acquire playing time before the start of the upcoming Premier League season.

Here’s how to watch Liverpool vs. Manchester City in the 2022 FA Community Shield in advance of this Saturday’s match between two North West powerhouses.

Global Kick-Off Times:

See also  The launch date for the FIFA21 closed beta version and how to get a sneak peek

United Kingdom:

17:00 BST

United Arab Emirates:

20:00 UAE

United States of America:

12:00 EST

9:00 PST

Indian Subcontinent:

21:30 IST

Live Watchalong w/ City Xtra

TV Listings

ITV1/UTV/STV and the ITV Hub will both offer live coverage of the game to viewers in the United Kingdom.

On ESPN+, fans in the US can watch the FA Community Shield live.

The whole TV schedule is available here for followers who reside elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: