Chelsea FC Set To See How ‘Robot Referees’ Works In Club World Cup

Spread the love

Chelsea FC will be experiencing the use of ‘robot referees’ when they compete in the Club World Cup.

Chelsea Set To See How 'Robot Referees' Works In Club World Cup
Chelsea FC, Current Champions League Holders

The Blues will be attempting to win the championship for the second time, having previously lost in the final to Corinthians in 2012.

Thanks to their Champions League victory last season, in which they beat Manchester City 1-0 in the final in Porto, Thomas Tuchel’s team will be traveling to the competition in the United Arab Emirates.

According to, ‘robot referees’ will be tested during this month’s competition.

The new technology is expected to be used to make offside rulings in less than half a second.

Special cameras will be mounted on the stadium roofs to construct a ‘limb-tracking system,’ which will generate animated skeletons to aid in the decision-making process when it comes to offside calls.


The VAR referees in place will be notified of the technology’s decision, and the on-pitch referee will be notified after that.

Chelsea will be the first Premier League team to deploy ‘robot referees,’ after the technology was successfully used during the Arab Cup.

FIFA hopes to have the technology fully operational before the World Cup begins in November and December this year, claiming that robotics have the “potential to deliver new insights for coaches, medical professionals, and spectators.”

See also  Kalidou Koulibaly called John Terry on phone to get his legendary number 26 jersey (Video)

The Blues will compete in the competition’s semi-finals, where they will face Al Hilal, Al Jazira, or Pirae.

When will the World Club Cup be held?

Chelsea, Champions League winners, will begin their FIFA Club World Cup campaign on February 9th, according to UEFA.

Holders of the Champions League Chelsea will compete in their second FIFA Club World Cup this year. Thomas Tuchel’s team will be aiming to become the competition’s eighth different European champion and ninth in a row.

How did Chelsea qualify for the Club World Cup?

Chelsea won the European Cup for the second time after defeating Premier League rivals Manchester City in the final last season. Kai Havertz scored the game’s only goal.

Chelsea Set To See How 'Robot Referees' Works In Club World Cup
Chelsea FC, Celebrating Champions League Win

At the Club World Cup, the holders of the UEFA Champions League compete against teams from Asia, Africa, North and Central America, the Caribbean and South America, as well as a team nominated by the Oceania confederation and the national champions of the host nation, the United Arab Emirates.

Who will compete in the Club World Cup in 2022?

The Blues’ opponents will be selected by the results of earlier rounds of play, with Brazilian club Palmeiras the only other team guaranteed a semi-final berth. Also participating are Al Jazira Club (UAE), Pirae (Tahiti), Al Ahly (Egypt), Monterrey (Mexico), and Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia).
When is the Club World Cup and where will it be held?

See also  Gary Neville Calls For An End to US Investments in English Football After Todd Boehly's Comment

The competition will be held in Abu Dhabi from the 3rd to the 12th of February this year. Chelsea kicks up their season on February 9th.

Who has been crowned champion of the Club World Cup?

  • Real Madrid 4 (2014, 2016, 2017, 2018)
  • Barcelona 3 (2009, 2011, 2015)
  • Bayern München 2 (2013, 2021)
  • Corinthians 2 (2000, 2012)
  • AC Milan 1 (2007)
  • Internacional 1 (2006)
  • Internazionale Milano 1 (2010)
  • Liverpool 1 (2019)
  • Manchester United 1 (2008)
  • São Paulo 1 (2005)

Which nations’ teams are most successful at the Club World Cup?

  • Spain 7
  • Brazil 4
  • England, Germany, Italy – 2

Who has won the most overall world club titles?*

  • Real Madrid 7 (1960, 1998, 2002; 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018)
  • AC Milan 4 (1969, 1989, 1990; 2007)
  • Bayern München 4 (1976, 2001; 2013, 2021)
  • Barcelona 3 (2009, 2011, 2015)
  • Boca Juniors 3 (1977, 2000, 2003)
  • Internazionale Milano 3 (1964, 1965; 2010)
  • Nacional 3 (1971, 1980, 1988)
  • Peñarol 3 (1961, 1966, 1982)
  • São Paulo 3 (1992, 1993; 2005)

*European/South American Cup plus FIFA Club World Cup

European sides’ Club World Cup scorers

7: Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United, Real Madrid)

See also  Cristiano Ronaldo Interview Part II: More Sensational Revelations and Thoughts [Full Video]
Chelsea Set To See How 'Robot Referees' Works In Club World Cup
Ronaldo – All time Club World Cup Scorer

6: Gareth Bale (Real Madrid)

5: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Luis Suárez (Barcelona)

3: Nicolas Anelka (Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

2: Adriano (Barcelona), Peter Crouch (Liverpool), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Quinton Fortune (Manchester United), Raúl González (Real Madrid), Filippo Inzaghi (AC Milan), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern), Pedro Rodríguez (Barcelona), own goals.

1: Jonathan Biabiany (Internazionale), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Nicky Butt (Manchester United), Dante (Bayern München), Deco (Barcelona), Samuel Eto’o (Internazionale), Cesc Fàbregas (Barcelona), Darren Fletcher (Manchester United), Geremi (Real Madrid), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Mario Götze (Bayern München), Eidur Gudjohnsen (Barcelona), Xavi Hernández (Barcelona), Fernando Hierro (Real Madrid), Isco (Real Madrid), Kaká (AC Milan), Naby Keïta (Liverpool), Seydou Keita (Barcelona), Marcos Llorente (Real Madrid), Mario Mandžukić (Bayern München), Rafael Márquez (Barcelona), Juan Mata (Chelsea), Maxwell (Barcelona), Diego Milito (Internazionale), Luka Modrić (Real Madrid), Fernando Morientes (Real Madrid), Alessandro Nesta (AC Milan), Goran Pandev (Internazionale), Franck Ribéry (Bayern München), Benjamin Pavard (Bayern München), Ronaldinho (Barcelona), Sávio (Real Madrid), Clarence Seedorf (AC Milan), Dejan Stanković (Internazionale), Thiago Alcántara (Bayern München), Fernando Torres (Chelsea FC), Nemanja Vidić (Manchester United), Dwight Yorke (Manchester United), Javier Zanetti (Internazionale)

%d bloggers like this: