CAF Awards: Mo Salah, Sadio Mané, and Edouard Mendy Make Shortlist, who deserves to win?

Spread the love

The shortlist for the CAF Player of the Year awards has been narrowed down to just three players: Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool), and Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich).

Salah, Mane and Mendy make shortlist for CAF award

The CAF Awards will take place on July 21, 2022, at 20h local time in Rabat, Morocco. (19h00 GMT).

The top three candidates are chosen from the list of nominees for both male and female categories that CAF previously made public.

Asisat Oshoala of Nigeria, a four-time champion in the Player of the Year category, is vying for a fifth victory. Ajara Nchout Njoya of Cameroon and Zambia’s Grace Chanda, a fresh entry, will be her fiercest rivals in the Women’s division.

Former champions Mohamed Salah of Egypt and Sadio Mane of Senegal will face off against Senegal shot-stopper Edouard Mendy, a newcomer to the three-man roster, in the men’s division.

Full list of top 3 nominees

Player of the Year (Men)

See also  Sadio Mane of Liverpool who recently suffered a head collision is fit for Senegal vs Equatorial Guinea AFCON quarter-final game

Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

Achraf Dari (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly)

Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)

Young Player of the Year (Men) 

Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)

Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg)

Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur)

Coach of the Year (Men)

Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

Carlos Queiroz (Egypt)

Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)

Club of the Year (Men)

Al Ahly (Egypt)

RS Berkane (Morocco)

Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

National Team of the Year (Men) 




Player of the Year (Women)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

Grace Chanda (Zambia & BIIK Kazygurt)

See also  Liverpool FC and its tremendous growth since the Arrival of Mo Salah, Mane and others

Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon & Internazionale Milano)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

Andile Dlamini (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Bambanani Mbanie (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns) 

Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes) 

Young Player of the Year (Women)

Doris Boaduwaa (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies)

Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)

Yasmine Zouhir (Morocco & AS Saint-Etienne)

Coach of the Year (Women)

Bruce Mwape (Zambia)

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Reynald Pedros (Morocco)

CAF AWARDS 2022:Oshoala Makes Final List, Waldrum, Gift Out

Club of the Year (Women)

AS FAR (Morocco)

Hasaacas Ladies (Ghana)

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

National Team of the Year (Women) 

The organizing team for the CAF Awards 2022 has examined the selection procedure for this significant category because there wasn’t a significant women’s competition during the time period under evaluation.

See also  How Atalanta took UEFA Champions League by Storm

As befits the prestige of the prize and women’s football in general, the TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations Morocco will be taken into consideration as one of the criteria in choosing a winner.

During the Women’s AFCON final game on July 23, 2022, the winner will be declared.

Goal of the Year

Gabadinho Mhango (Malawi & Orlando Pirates)

Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal & Simba)

Zouhair El Moutaraji (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: