Barcelona announce squad list ahead of Napoli tie

Spread the love

Ahead of this evening’s second leg tie versus Napoli. The Catalans have released their 22-man squad list from Quique Setien would pick his starting 11 from.

Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Neto, 26. Iñaki Peña

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 15. Clément Lenglet, 18. Jordi Alba, 24. Junior Firpo, 33. Ronald Araujo, 44. Óscar Mingueza

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 20. Sergi Roberto, 21. Frenkie De Jong. 28. Riqui Puig, 42. Monchu, 46. Ludovit Reis, 47. Jandro Orellana

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 17. Antoine Griezmann, 31. Ansu Fati, 45. Konrad De La Fuente

See also  Manchester City and Manchester United to miss the 2020 Premier League Opening

The first leg in Naples ended all square so there’s still all to play for at the Camp Nou tonight. Barcelona will hope to avoid the fate that befell fellow Spanish giants Real Madrid yesterday.

The big news with this squad selection is the return of Antoine Griezmann, who is fully recovered from a hamstring injury and is available to play. There are six first-team players missing: Sergio Busquets and Arturo Vidal are suspended, Ousmane Dembélé (hamstring) and Samuel Umtiti (knee) are injured, Martin Braithwaite is ineligible for the Champions League, and Arthur Melo doesn’t want to play for the club anymore.

Lionel Messi will be expected to deliver for his side tonight if they are to progress. After losing their La Liga crown to Real Madrid, the Champions League is Barcelona’s remaining way of salvaging their season and they will have full intentions of winning it.

Messi promised the Blaugrana faithful that he was going to bring the Champions League home last season. His side looked set for the final in Madrid after a 3-0 first-leg victory against eventual winners Liverpool. However, a capitulation in the second leg one week later sent Messi and co packing.

See also  Thursday's Latest Transfer Updates

Tonight’s match kicks off on Saturday at 9 pm CET (Barcelona), 8 pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3 pm ET, 12 pm PT (USA), 12.30 am IST (India, Sunday)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: