2023 UEFA Award: Erling Haaland Wins UEFA Player Of The Year, See Others

Spread the love

2023 UEFA Award: Erling Haaland won the Player of the Year award during the award ceremony on Thursday, 31st August, 2023.

2023 UEFA Award: Erling Haaland, Aitana Bonmati Bags Accolades

UEFA handed out its annual individual prize to celebrate achievements from the 2022/23 season, following the conclusion of the 23/24 men’s Champions League group stage draw.

Lionel Messi was again on the list for the men’s award, aiming to pull level with long-time rival Cristiano Ronaldo by clinching the award for the third time.

The former PSG man was on the list due to his heroics after he led Argentina to World Cup glory and won the Ligue 1 title with PSG before joining Inter Miami.

However, Haaland beat Messi and Kevin De Bruyne to the 2023 UEFA Award best player award.

The Norwegian forward enjoyed a sensational debut campaign in England in 2022/23, helping Manchester City to a first-ever Champions League crown and treble.

Haaland was named best player after helping Manchester City win a historic treble in his first season in the English Premier League.

Haaland scored 52 goals in 53 appearances across all competitions, with 12 goals in 11 appearances for City in the Champions League.

See also  Cristiano Ronaldo Failed to Score Again After Playing Full 90 Minutes Against Omonia Nicosia... Should He Retire?

On the other hand, Aitana Bonmatí won the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year after winning the Women’s Champions League with Barcelona Women and the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup with Spain, where she was awarded the golden ball for the best player.

Alexia Putellas’ two-year reign as the 2023 UEFA Award women’s winner came to an end as her fellow Spanish World Cup winner succeeded her.

Aitana Bonmati won the award, which was immediately followed by her Golden Ball prize at the World Cup earlier this month, where she bagged three goals and assisted two more.

Pep Guardiola, Manchester City and Erling Haaland’s coach also bagged the award for Best Men’s Coach while Lionesses head coach Sarina Wiegman won the award for Best Coach of a Women’s Team.

2023 UEFA Award: Erling Haaland Wins UEFA Player Of The Year, See Others

Bonmati also enjoyed a massive season with the all-conquering Barcelona side last season before winning the World Cup final.

Australia and Chelsea star Sam Kerr was also among the players that was nominated for the women’s award.

See also  Richarlison hits back at Jamie Carragher: "I don't respect you"

Below is the list of winners of the 2023 UEFA Award held in Monaco, France on Thursday, 31st August, 2023.

UEFA Awards 2023: List of nominees for Men’s and Women’s Player of the Year

UEFA Men’s Player of the Year

  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City & Belgium)
  • Winner: Erling Haaland (Manchester City & Norway)
  • Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain & Argentina)

Shortlist of 2023 UEFA Award: 4th Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City & Germany: 129 points), 5th Rodri (Manchester City & Spain: 110), 6th Kylian Mbappe (PSG & France: 82), 7th Luka Modric (Real Madrid & Croatia: 33), 8th Marcelo Brozovic (Inter Milan & Croatia: 20), 9th Declan Rice (West Ham & England: 14), Alexis Mac Allister (Brighton & Argentina: 12), Jesus Navas (Sevilla & Spain: 6)

UEFA Women’s Player of the Year

  • Winner: Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona & Spain)
  • Olga Carmona (Real Madrid & Spain)
  • Sam Kerr (Chelsea & Australia)

Shortlist of 2023 UEFA Award: 4th Mary Earps (Manchester United & England: 55 points), =5th Salma Paralluelo (Barcelona & Spain: 48), =5th Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg & Germany: 48), 7th Keira Walsh (Barcelona & England: 24), Caroline Graham Hansen (Barcelona & Norway: 11), 9th Rachel Daly (Aston Villa & England: 8), 10th Ewa Pajor (Wolfsburg & Poland: 5), 11th Kadidiatou Diani (PSG & France: 4)

UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year

Pep Guardiola was recognized for his role in leading Manchester City to Champions League glory as part of a 2022/23 treble alongside Premier League and FA Cup trophies.

See also  Raphael Varane Lifts Lid On Dressing Room Reaction to Ten Hag's Squad Changes

However, he was not around to receive his 2023 UEFA Award due to the fact that he is recovering from a back injury.

2023 UEFA Award: Women’s Coach of the Year

Sarina Wiegman, England boss, was named women’s coach of the year for the second time in a row after she guided the Lionesses to the 2023 World Cup final despite multiple setbacks last month.

The Women’s boss had previously won the inaugural Women’s Finalissima back in April.

Who has won the most UEFA Player of the Year awards?

Messi won the first edition of the UEFA Best Player in Europe Award, which was later renamed as the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year Award in 2016/17.

Cristiano Ronaldo won his third award in the 2016/17 season to go out in front on the all-time list.

2023 UEFA Award: Erling Haaland Wins UEFA Player Of The Year, See Others

Alexia Putellas is also on the same level with Pernille Harder both winning it twice, with the latter finishing as runner-up to Lieke Martens in 2016/17.

%d bloggers like this: