2020 Globe Soccer Awards, all winners and the talking points

Spread the love

The 2020 Globe Soccer Awards has come and gone but the aftermath of the event has continued to linger on over 24 hours after. The big story from the annual event was that Cristiano Ronaldo won the player of the century ahead of his career rival Lionel Messi.

This means that Cristiano Ronaldo is the best footballer in the world in the last 100 years even though Messi won Ballon d’Or 6 times, one more than the 35-year-old Portuguese football icon.

Hence, some football fans don’t agree with the decision to give Cristiano Ronaldo the player of the century ahead of Messi that has won more Ballon d’Or than him and more club titles than the Portuguese.

Another talking point from the 2020 Globe Soccer Awards, if not the most controversial of them all, was that Manchester City coach Pep Guardiola was named the coach of the century which means that he has been the best coach of the year in the last 100 years.

See also  Five biggest football stories in 2021: Messi, Ronaldo, others

The award placed the achievements and the tactical ability of the Spanish coach ahead of that of the legendary Sir Alex Ferguson of Manchester United, and the legendary Jose Mourinho of Chelsea, Real Madrid, Inter Milan, and Manchester United who now coaches Tottenham Hotspur.

Besides the controversies, the good part of the award which took place at the Burj Khalifa, Dubai on Sunday, December 27, was that Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski stopped the reign of Cristiano Ronaldo at the award ceremony. The Polish striker picked up the best player of the year award for the first time since the award ceremony started in 2011.

2020 Globe Soccer Awards, all winners and the talking points
Robert Lewandowski.

Before he took over the reign from Ronaldo, the Portuguese star has won the category of the award 6 times out of the 10 editions that have been held.

On the other hand, Ronaldo’s football agent, Jorge Mendes, continued with his dominance at the award by being crowned the agent of the century.

See also  DFL CEO Christian Seifert describes Bayern Munich's Champions League success as outstanding

While Bayern Munich was crowned the best club of the year and Real Madrid was crowned the best club of the century. Bayern’s coach Hansi Flick was crowned the best coach of the year ahead of Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp.

Recall that recently, the Liverpool manager was crowned the best coach of the year by the world football governing body, FIFA, via the annual Best FIFA Award. This became a big controversy because Flick won the UEFA Champions League, the Bundesliga, and the DFB-Pokal last season while Klopp only won the Premier League.

Hence, the 2020 Globe Soccer Awards decided to make amends on that by giving the Bayern coach the best coach of the year award ahead of Klopp.

Below is the full list of the 2020 Globe Soccer Awards

Cristiano Ronaldo.

Club of the Year – Bayern Munich

Club of the Century – Real Madrid

Player of the Year – Robert Lewandowski

See also  Frank Lampard is on the path of being sacked again as he admits that Everton are in a relegation battle after a 2-0 defeat to Southampton

Player of the Century – Cristiano Ronaldo

Coach of the Year – Hansi Flick

Coach of the Century – Pep Guardiola

Agent of the Century – Jorge Mendes

Player Career Award – Iker Casillas

Player Career Award – Gerard Pique

Top Title Winners of the Middle East – Al Ahly SC

%d bloggers like this: